Help Denon 2200 not playing SACD

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by grahammackie, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. grahammackie

    grahammackie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my first SACD today hooray. Denon 2200 is connected to Yamaha DSP640 through 6 channel analogue and optical.

    Default setting for SACD audio is multi but I only get a low bass note through the sub. Only when I select CD do I get any sound through all speakers. SACD is Peter Gabriel and is a hybrid. What am I doing wrong ?

    DVDA, normal DVD's etc all work great...
     
  2. Gizmo 76

    Gizmo 76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    The Apps are Calling :-S
    Ratings:
    +522
    Just had a quick look at the yamaha manual, are your pressing the 5 channel input button?! As SACD will not work though your optical and it's easy to think the amp would auto switch to what you want :(

    Might be worth a look, you could also confirm your test tones on the denon 2200 side of things are working if this not the problem.

    Giz
     
  3. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,227
    Obvious question but you have deffinately switched the amp to its six channel input ?

    Edit: Beaten to it :)
     
  4. grahammackie

    grahammackie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys - doh !! Have selected six channel input and I now get sound when Denon set to multi !! Unfortunately sound is only coming from the front mains - nothing from the centres or the rears. All other inputs from the 2200 work fine, test signal also OK.

    Should I be getting a true surround sound experience ??
     
  5. Gizmo 76

    Gizmo 76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    The Apps are Calling :-S
    Ratings:
    +522
    hmmm. . . . . . . .

    If it's a hybrid disc, the default layer might be stereo, have you tried pressing your SACD setup button on the front of your player to switch between 'Stereo','Multi', and 'CD' modes??

    If not seem's strange due to the fact that your denon's test tone are working on all speakers, but hopefully this is the answer.

    Giz.:hiya:
     
  6. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,227
    Its also possible that its only a two channel SACD disc and doesn`t have multi channel surround.

    Does it mention on the back of the disc case if its multi channel ?
     
  7. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,227
    P.S If you like Roxy Music i can recommend this multi channel SACD disc :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...