Help creating my own DVD

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Paul O, Dec 24, 2000.

1. Paul O

Paul O

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hi, can anyone help me?!

I am trying to create a mini-DVD (using a CD-R rather than DVD-R).

I have created the .VOB files and associated .BUP and .IFO files. However, when then burn these onto the CD-R, my Panasonic DVD player won't recognise the disc. It is capable of playing CD-Rs.

Can anyone tell me where I am going wrong?? I am using the Demo of Quick Builder.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!!!!

Cheers,

Paul.

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey dude,
    Im very interested in the kinda project that your makin' ('MiniDVDs' and homemade VCDs etc.)
    I must admit i have no experience actually trying this stuff out but have done a little research into it...
    Concerning your 'MiniDVD' i think the problem is not your files (.VOB etc.) on the disc, but the media itself. I recon (this is just an educated guess) that your DVD player isn't plaing the video 'cos it recognises the CD-R as a CD-ROM, and won't play whether the files are valid or not. I bet, however, that with a bit of fidlin' you can play the video using a PC DVD drive because, theoretically, the type of media is ignored by PCs and only the valid files used.

3. Paul O

Paul O

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hi Satanslapdog