HELP! connecting my laptop using vga and format is unavailable!?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by nicolevictoria, Jan 10, 2012.

Tags:
  1. nicolevictoria

nicolevictoria
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I am a total rookie with computers and connections and I am trying to connect my laptop to my TV moniter through VGA.

Everytime I connect the wire and set it on to the VGA channel the screen is blank and says 'Picture format not available'

My tv is a Philips Matchline widescreen flat TV 42PF9945 107cm (42") plasma Progressive Scan with Digital Crystal Clear.

and my laptop is an acer and has windows 7.

I litterally do not know the first thing about computers so desperatly needing some help on this! If someone could walk me through it would be very much appreciated!

I have tried attatching the lead and changing the properties to multiple displays. I dont know what else to do!

Thanks!

2. iaint

iaint

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +89
    Hi.
    Couple things. Some TVs are picky about what picture sizes they'll accept via their VGA connector, so set your laptop to output 800x600. I don't often use Windows 7, but if you've found the option to do multiple displays, it will be nearby.
    According to another post here; http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasma-tvs/309490-philips-42pf9945-12-how-display-pc-input.html , this TV is /very/ picky about what it'll take. And I thought my LG was bad...