1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help connecting iScan Pro to CRT

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Messiah, Feb 7, 2003.

  1. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I have a Barco 701s usually connected to a Quadscan pro via a VGA to 5 x BNC lead (using 4 x BNC). I have today got an iScan pro on loan and have conneceted it up with a component input from my Denon AVC-A1SR and using the same VGA to BNC lead to the pj.

    Unfortunately I cannot get any picture at all on the pj on any source with the iScan set to either RGB or YPbPr.

    Anyone got any ideas? I'm trying to see how much better (or not) the iScan is over my Quadscan.

    Any help appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Didn't realise I would have to remove the sync cable from the pj altogether. No better than the Quadscan though, surprisingly.
     
  3. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    The Iscan has a series of jumpers (non wooly) inside. Yours has been set to Sync on green which should be fine as the projector will auto sync. sounds like the Ican is producing seperate sync as well.

    you may have to tweek the brightness and contrast just marginally away from their defaults to get a proper setting with the barco at 40 bright 70 contrast
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Thanks Roland. I'm quite surprised that it offers no improvement whatsoever over my Quadscan as from reading posts here I was expecting a marked improvement.

    Glad I haven't paid for it :D
     
  5. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    On NTSC there is nothing in it. On PAL however the deinterlacing is better on the iscanPro, which has 2:2 pulldown.

    Regards


    Alan Roser
    Owl Video Systems Ltd
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Aaahhh! More justification for a CS-1 then. Any news on the EPROM?
     
  7. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    It's in the post!:smashin:
     
  8. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Wicked:D . Thanks Alan. Guess we'll know soon whether I'll be looking for something else or happy with my QS.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...