• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Help! Complete novice! Installing Sky etc

sky noobie

Standard Member
Hi all,
Apologies for the dunce questions :lease: but I really have no idea how this will work, never had SKY before. We're moving in to a new build house this week and I have ordered SKY to come install the TV system. The plan is to have SKY in the main lounge and freeview on the other TV's in the house. Problem is we don't have an internal aerial as its a new build house, we'd have to install one to get Freeview, so in our position how does SKY work when you plug in another TV in another room?

I assume that SKY will come into one room to feed the main TV? As we have TV points in just about all the rooms, if we plugged in a TV to the aerial socket say in a bedroom, would we get SKY through that? Without the multi-room package I understand that you could only watch on another telly in the house whatever is selected on the main SKY box ie SKYSports in the main lounge then it will be the same everywhere else?

What are our best options to be able to watch different channels on different TV's in different rooms? SKY Multi room or install an internal aerial (how much would that cost?) as well to get freeview box/integrated TV or is there another way?

Also the house has one of those internal multi room systems (speakers, AV sockets in each room etc) that I believe can be controlled on a room to room basis. Would this mean we could stream SKY through the house and control it in each room without the need for mult-room package?

Any help much appreciated!! Thanks! :)

Broadz

Distinguished Member