Question Help choosing atmos enabled system (and advice!)

EDDS

Prominent Member
Reaction score
First of all, forgive me for being a complete noob.

So I've had the SphereX 5.1 surround sound system since the original Xbox days, so I've been outa the audio game for a long time.

To start off, I have the Samsung KS8000 and an Xbox One S (Xbox One X in the near future). The Xbox is the only device that is going to be used, also the inbuilt applications and freeview channels in the TV are not going to be used, literally just the Xbox is used.

As everything now seems to be connected via HDMI, how will this work when connecting the Xbox?

Xbox goes to receiver and then receiver passes the visual signal to the TV?

Or

Xbox goes to TV and then TV passes audio to receiver?

If it's the first option, does that mean the receiver also needs to have a certain HDMI version to pass through 4K? and will it also increase input lag as it has to pass through another device?

If it's the second option, will the TV have to support atmos pass through or something like that?

This is all so much more complicated than directly plugging in an optical cable :p

Budget: don't have a clue how much this will be but if any recommendations can be the best bang for your buck kinda deal, so nothing crazy and no cheap crap either.

So given my requirements, what's the best receiver to get and is it worth buying new speakers (will there be a big diff in quality?) or can i use my existing speakers from my SphereX system (if they'll even work?) and just buy two more for the overhead speakers?

Anyone that has any answers to my questions will be helping a great deal :)