1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help choose DVDR

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by TVHEAD, Nov 30, 2004.

1. TVHEAD

TVHEAD
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been reading through the threads in this forum for almost a week now, and am finding it :confused: hard to make a decision on what dvdr to go for, :lease: Please give me your advice without going into to much jargon as it’s all a bit over my :suicide: head, I like the spec of the following machines

1, Panasonic DMR-E85HEBS
    2, Toshiba RD-XS32

I will be linked up to a Samsung cable NTL box, so will be recording from this source, I would like a hard disk, and will be watching some copies on other dvd players, I am not very technical :rolleyes: and would really appreciate you knowledge in helping me to make the right decision I have had a lot of bad luck in the past with purchasing electrical goods and do not what to repeat my misfortunes when choosing a new dvdr
    Regards
    TVHEAD

2. redsox_mark

redsox_mark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +621
    I considered both... both seem good machines.

I went for the Toshiba as it did one thing which was important to me that the Panasonic did not - you can create a rewritable (DVD-RW) disc that can be played on another machine. This was important as often the wife wants me to record something for her to watch upstairs where there is another DVD player.

All machines can write to a compatible write-once disc, but for regular record, watch on another player, and wipe, having a compatible recordable format was important to me. The Panasonic of course can also make rewritable discs, but these can't be played on most DVD players.

Mark

3. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,257