1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Can't get on xbox live!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by mr v, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. mr v

    mr v
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to get on xbox live via virgin broadband through my computer (windows xp home edition) but i keep getting a message on the xbox saying no dns server address were received from dchp or pppoe server. I think I need to configure the computer to get a local area connection but i have been told i need the xbox's ip address or some details to make such connection, has anyone else had problems getting on xbox live, or can anyone help????
     
  2. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,515
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Hi and welcome to the forums mr v! It's not too unusual to have the odd problem or two when you're first trying to connect, hang in there. It helps the more we know about how you're trying to connect to the Internet with your Xbox - am I right in thinking you've connected to your PC, and your PC is connected to the internet?

    If so the first thing to check is that Internet Connection Sharing is switched on on your PC. Let us know how it goes...
     
  3. Colgate7110

    Colgate7110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +75
    Hey mr v - have you tried the official Xbox site? I'm not sure whether you'll find it helpful or not, but they have an interactive step-by-step Flash affair here:

    http://www.xboxemea.com/playtogether/xboxlivemanual/

    It gives the instructions for both Windows and your Xbox dashboard. Choose "Other DSL broadband" , "no" to connecting wirelessly and "Internet Connection Sharing" for type of network.

    If that doesn't help though, as Lawrence says, it's not at all unusual to have a few hiccups when getting setup with Live and the Internet Connection Sharing route is one of the more troublesome ones! If that doesn't get you online, post some more detail about you're connections and setup and it's almost guaranteed that somebody else here will have faced the exact same problem and can give you the precise solution :smashin:

    Cheers,

    Colin
     
  4. mr v

    mr v
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for advise, yes i have been on xbox site not really any help, i have spoken to modem provider, computer manufacturer and microsoft and still no joy. I am going to ring microsoft again as I need a ip address to configure my computer with the laptop on a local area connection.
     
  5. gatty-jr-jr

    gatty-jr-jr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +66
    enable ics and make sure you have turned of all firewalls...
     
  6. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    Another smarmy and helpfull post brought to you by your friendly moderators!!!! :D
     
  7. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,515
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    *slaps Poontang*

    Cheeky monkey - though to be fair there is a thin line between friendliness and smarm - glad to see you don't indulge in either Pooon ;)

    To try and keep this on topic, I don't really understand how MS can help with the IP request? That info is all stored within your network connections....
     
  8. broony

    broony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this site, it walks you through most connections:
    Live help

    Look in the diagrams section and the F.A.Q. section
     
  9. mr v

    mr v
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help finally got on haveing great fun you were a star had to change my tag to (only the reaper) so I hope to hear from you on-line soon like I said you are a star cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...