1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP - can't get my Pioneer DV575a to output component to PV500!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ErikX, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. ErikX

    ErikX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    Just got my TH-37PV500. Hooked it up to my surround system and Pioneer DV575a. Connecting via scart is no problem. However, when I try to connect via component I get no picture at all :eek:

    I have set the telly to show output from component, but nothing happens.

    This is a brand new Monster component cable!

    Any kind soul out there that can give me a hint?

    Regards,
    ErikX
     
  2. Slimline

    Slimline
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know the machine, and sorry if it's a stupid suggestion, but do you have to set it up internally to output a component signal? You should find an option in the menus if that's the case.
     
  3. ErikX

    ErikX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Some more info...

    Connection with scart works ok. So I tried to use both scart and component at the same time. This enables me to enter the dv575's setup menu. In the menu there is something called "Video output". In this menu, "Component out" is greyed out. For some reason the DVD player seem to not understand that component cables are actually fitted. Could the DVD player be defect?
     
  4. ErikX

    ErikX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    How am I supposed to set it up to output to component if I can't access the setup menu? Anyway - as u can see in my previous post, I "solved" that by using scart and component simultanously. Anyway, the Component out selection is greyed out/inactive :(
     
  5. RFL

    RFL
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello there,

    Don't know if this helps but if you have the scart set to RGB it will disable the component outputs. Try changing the scart settings to s-video or composite and see if the component output becomes avaulable.

    Hope that helps

    (this is the way it works on my 757)

    Regards
    RFL
     
  6. ErikX

    ErikX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Actually, I did this just now before reading your post. It worked!!! :clap: Anyway - thanx a bunch!!!!
     
  7. mlilliman

    mlilliman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    ErikX, how did it look once you managed to get the component working?! I have the same Pioneer 575 and am getting my 42pv500 tomorrow morning. Happy days :D
     
  8. Slimline

    Slimline
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mate, how am I supposed to know you can't access the setup menus if you don't say so? :confused:

    Anyway, pleased that you got it working. :thumbsup: How does the component signal compare to the RGB scart?
     

Share This Page

Loading...