1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Cant connect My Pronto To PC

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by stealther, Jul 30, 2002.

  1. stealther

    stealther
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lichfield
    Ratings:
    +93
    Can anyone help me I ve recently traded my PC for a new Laptop but to my horror discovered that it has no serial port to connect my Pronto SBC Ru890.

    Does anybody Know away to connect the pronto using a parrallel port or USB?
     
  2. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +302
    You cant do it if you dont have serial port ! I know I tried, I have a belkin usb to serial port and it just dosn't want to know.

    The pronto edit software cant find the port.

    I still use the laptop to change my pronto configs then send them to one of my pc's over the network and then dload to the pronto.
     
  3. smallman28

    smallman28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would have thought you could get a converter/lead to change the serial connection to a paralell connection,the external modem I had used to have had both a serial and paralell connector on the end of the lead and I used to just connect to which ever port was free.
     
  4. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    There is a heck of a lot about this subject on Remotecentral.

    I'd recommend a visit to their Pronto forum!

    EffTee
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,547
    modems cannot work on a parallel port, dut to the nature of data transfer required.

    Your thinking of 9-pin and 25-pin serial connections.

    Prontoedit software needs a "hardware COM port", which is not available when using a USB convertor.

    Serial port cards are easily avaliable and only cost a few quid, no use for a laptop though, i know.
     
  6. stealther

    stealther
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lichfield
    Ratings:
    +93
    Is It possible to get a serial card for a laptop I think I have a spare port on the side of the machine?
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,547
  8. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2,111
    Wouldn't it be nice if you could use the IR port of the laptop? especially as the Pronto already has quite a good IR receiver.
     
  9. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    not true.

    my usb to serial cable works fine on XP & 2000 with my pronto.

    get a cable from a supplier that will let you return it and try another, and make sure you get the latest drivers.

    I got mine from komplett... £18 (not 13 as I originally put).
     
  10. Threadkiller

    Threadkiller
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
  12. Threadkiller

    Threadkiller
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    when I originally bought mine, it was a D-link & cost about £20.00. Sold it on since then, & can't remember the model number
     

Share This Page

Loading...