1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Cannot get the SPDIF to carry full 5.1

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Mark Payne, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. Mark Payne

    Mark Payne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    Config is an Elonex Artisan PC running MS Media Centre Edition 2005.
    Well... I cannot fix it!

    All this is about the Realtek SPDIF output..the analogue outs work fine.

    Media Centre will not play anything through anything other than the Left and Right via the SPDIF.

    The little audio test available through Sound Effect Manager (in the control pannel) goes around and tests each speaker, but it fails on all but the Left and Right fronts.

    BUT if I start Cyberlink PowerDVD 6 and play a DVD using that then it all works! The amp recognises DTS or Dolby Digital and off we go.

    I have messed with all the settings I can see to no avail.

    Anyone fixed this?

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  2. markxtc123

    markxtc123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    See my answer in the Elonex thread
     
  3. mikeycrawford

    mikeycrawford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Same here with an Audigy 2 soundcard going to a Pioneer Amp.

    My understanding from reading other threads here is that only a Nforce based motherboard can do on the fly encoding to 5.1, so unless you are sending a DD 5.1/DTS signal down the SP/DIF (like your DVD played throughPowerDVD), then the best you can hope for will be sound out of the L+R speakers.

    It stumped me for quite a while too .....

    Mike
     
  4. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Get AC3filter set it to SPDIF to use all channels.
     
  5. Ar-Jar

    Ar-Jar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look for "Dolby Digital Live" technology on the motherboard. DDL encodes any sound up to 5.1 or 7.1 Dolby Digital so that you can decode it in your receiver and you only need one cable to the receiver. Many new mb:s, like my new Asus, have that technology now. For a htpc you don't need a separate sound card anymore.

    -A
     
  6. Pbryanw

    Pbryanw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    A dystopian Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +101

Share This Page

Loading...