help, can you record off a freeview box?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by salsa-king, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. salsa-king

    salsa-king
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Nottm
    Ratings:
    +16
    went into Richer Sounds yesterday and had a good chat with the sales manager (James) he explained that a built in FreeView wouldn't give me 100% reliable connection, also if it went wrong the whole thing gets taken away (they don't push TVs with buit in TV for the same reason)

    So went for this after great lengths discusion.
    LG RH200MH at Richer Sounds - HI-FI Separates, Home Cinema, Speakers, MP3 DVD Portables, Plasma LCD, etc.
    [​IMG]

    :lease:

    can you connect a freeview box to a dvdr like what i've just bought and record freeview? as i'm now all connected up.
    the dvdr scans and save the 5 anolgue channels.
    Freeview is watched through the AV2 channel on the DVDR.
    i can't see how you can record :- say E4 as how do you programme the dvdr to record that channel?

    if i turn off the DVDr and try to watch freeview I have no sound!! so the DVDr has to be turned on to hear sound.

    i'm running the TV and the Freeview and of course the dvdr all through the Denon DHT550 so i get 5.1 surround sound (this already has a dvd player in it)

    if I can't record from the philips Freeview box onto the LG dvdr theres no point spending £400+ just to watch DVd's via a HDMi connection, as the denon's picture quality is fab on the samsung Tv anyway.

    Today I've spent another £20 buying a optical cable so i can filter the sound off from the LG DVDr to the Denon, yesterday i bought a hi quality hdmi cable and a coaxal cable which I'm now using to filter the sound from the freeview to the denon.

    I now need them to come out and see how its set up as both Jo and i are lost having spent a second evening refitting it up to get it to work with no luck. if they can't come and sort it I'll be taking it back for my money back as its not doing what we wanted it to do when we told the guy what we wanted from the DVD recorder!!!



    :(
     
  2. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    i'll let folks with more knowledge answer the bulk of your questions, only thing i would like to say is to go back to the shop and ask the manager if they can sell you a TV or DVD-R or VCR with no analogue tuner in.....

    think about it for a moment ;)

    i would agree that having a screen and the recorder built together isnt the best option unless you really have no room for two units.....but VCR's, DVD-R's and TV's all have to have a tuner in otherwise you cant watch TV...lol....ok you can get office style Plasmas without any tuner at all but those are usually designed for specific media installations......come 2012 and the last analogue tranmissions are switched off, all TV's and recording equipment will default to being built with digital freeview tuners instead of analogue tuners....

    anyhow, i hope some others can help you out with the other stuff ;)
     
  3. salsa-king

    salsa-king
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Nottm
    Ratings:
    +16
    true,


    I've just boxed everything back up.... its going back for a re fund. no point having it if it won't record from freeview.

    thinking of just getting a freeview box witha built in hard drive in stead to keep us going till we can get a dvdr.
    i'll dowithout recording onto disc for now!!
     
  4. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,052
    It's a while since I've heard such utter sales nonsense!


    You would select AV2 as the input source on the DVDR.
    Whether it is possible to change this depends on whether your DVDR has facilities for feed-through which would be effected by changing settings.
    Huh?
    Do I understand that basically you wanted to add the facility of digital channels to your set up?
    If so you should appreciate that your minimum ultimate objective should be to have at least two digital tuners in your system otherwise you are always tied to whatever channel you wish to record.
    Thus integrated digital tuners start making a lot more sense.
     
  5. salsa-king

    salsa-king
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Nottm
    Ratings:
    +16
    your right, but we were told, after we said what our set p was... see my sig. that i could use this LG dd to record any freeview channel, programm it to record a freeview channel etc etc.
    but the way it loooks you can record the freeview via the AV2 settingthat its on, but you can only record the channel of freeview thats being transmitted.
    ie, the DVDr would not pick another cannel if you wanted to record sa ITV2 tomorrow after today were watching E4+.

    so seems little point having a £400 DVDr thats doing no more than what a £69 VCR would do.


    its going back now anyway.
     
  6. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,052
    I have misunderstood your original post to a certain extent.

    It would have been easier to give advise if you explained simply what it is you want to be able to achieve.

    But if I understand correctly this box you have bought I am bewildered to understand how an apparent 'sale item' made by an inferior manufacturer could cost this price in the first place.

    You could get a better equipped unit with integrated freeview by a superior manufacturer for less than that price.

    Consider Panasonic Sony or Pioneeer.
     
  7. salsa-king

    salsa-king
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Nottm
    Ratings:
    +16
    we took the LG back to RS, got a full refund, explained why I'd took it back, no quibbles.

    went straight to Argos, bought the SAGEM freeView box PVR6200T (£169) it has 160gb HDD on it and 7day timer. Fitted it up, dead easy. testing the record funtion as we speak ITV @9pm now. we'll watch a DVD in the mean time :)

    looked at the others at ARGOS, some were out of stock!! so went for the SEGEM as it seems to have good reviews, and John lewis sell them LOL



    we'll see how we go.
     
  8. HHGTTG

    HHGTTG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +80
    I have nothing against Argos at all, in fact I often buy some run of the mill items from them but certainly would not buy DVD recorders, for example, from them.

    For this sort of thing, I would much rather go to a shop that specialises in Hi-Fi sound and vision equipment and who could give you good sound advice on such matters, eg a good BADA dealer would be my first port of call when buying equipment like that.
     
  9. salsa-king

    salsa-king
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Nottm
    Ratings:
    +16
    no, you misunderstand me.
    its this we'v gone for at Argos (we had some vouchers for there anyway)
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5320761.htm

    [​IMG]

    very happy with it, its bit like having Sky+ without the monthly cost +£10


    we took back the LG DVDR from where we bought it, Richer Sounds. As it didn't do what we wanted it to do the cheaper option was get a freeview box with 160gd hard drive for the time being. argo had them and whats more to know!! lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...