1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help ATI 8500DV

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by oaklandraiders, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    This used to work in previous mb, but not in new one.
    Monitor just goes into standby, I've tried changing a few things in bios, AGP size to 256, but nothing works.
    Emailed ATI weeks ago, no help.

    Thanks

    John
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    You might get some useful answers/ideas if you tell us more about your system (and possibly a weblink to a site that describes the card).

    The new mobo: Make/model ?
    AGP4 slot , AGP8 or what ?
    CPU ?
    Memory ?
    What PCI cards are installed ?
    Other pertinent details, including your PC's power supply ; it's not unknown for systems to fail when the PSU isn't man enough for the job (so what is Max (not the marketeers' "peak" rating) Amps for +3.3Volts, +5V, +12 V (should be written on a label on the power supply) ?

    Do you get any "beep codes" whilst it tries to boot ?
    Blank screen all the time - or do you get some initial text (like BIOS version) on the screen first ?
    Do the fans on the mobo come on ok ?

    etc. etc.
    Chris Muriel
     
  3. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Its a K7VTA3 mb with 512 ram, 4xagp, amd 1800+, network and sound card, 350 W power, 40a, 20a, 15a, 0.8a, 0.5a, 3a for +5v to +5Vsb.

    It beebs twice on start up, nothing appears on screen

    Hope you can help.

    John
     
  4. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    The PSU specs sound good enough to me.
    (although I am no expert on AMD requirements , always used Intel CPUs).

    I believe 2 beeps will indicate a memory problem.
    Check the memory is correctly -seated for starters.
    You could remove 1 stick and if that doesn't help try the other one (unless you have other spare memory to try).

    There should be a "beep code" list in your mobo manual.
    Have you a different graphics card that you can try just to see if everything else is working ?
    Even an old PCI VGA card should work (assuming it defaults to PCI when nothing is inserted into the AGP slot - the manual should confirm this).

    You could also set another PC (with AGP slot) to bog-standard VGA and put your 8500DV in it to confirm that it still works.

    Report back afterwards & maybe someone with AMD mobo experience will have more suggestions.

    Chris Muriel
     
  5. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Memory is fine, if I put in a PCI vga card it works fine. I'll check the number of beeps again though.
    Mobo manual doesnt help, nothing on their www about ATI either.
    ATI www helpfully says their cards dont work in some mobos ! Of course they dont give any more details.

    Card works fine in old mobo.

    Thanks

    John
     
  6. TooManyHobbies

    TooManyHobbies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Evening just checked a couple of sites and from what I can sse you have a Phoenix Bios and 2 bleeps would definatly indicate a memory error.
     
  7. TooManyHobbies

    TooManyHobbies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Edit.
    there 8 revisions of this board and 3 different types of bios fitted the most common being Award and only ECS can tell you what the beep codes means.
    But basicly it's a ram or video failure all other post errors should be displayed on screen with this motherboard.
    Do you know what revision the board is?
     
  8. TooManyHobbies

    TooManyHobbies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
  9. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Its revision5, just going to reboot and try a few bios changes.

    John
     
  10. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    No joy, its more of one very long beep with a hiccup in middle and monitor goes to standby.

    John
     
  11. TooManyHobbies

    TooManyHobbies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    I'd would change the motherboard and keep the 8500 as the issues seem to point to the motherboard.
    Had the 8500 myself and it was an excellent card.
     
  12. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yo

    Its a new mobo and how do I know it'll work with replacement !

    john
     
  13. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    Probably a coincidence but on the MSI website/forum there was reference to a BIOS change where a new revision was noted as
    "system cannot boot when installing ATI8500DV AGP card and any PCI card"
    Not your mobo (or even same manufacturer) but worth checking for similar issues with your mobo-maker.

    (I have an MSI 845Emax2BLR mobo so I monitor the MSI site & forums).
    Chris Muriel
     

Share This Page

Loading...