Help/Advice Wanted - REW, Lyngdorf 3400, M&Ks and REL Sub - Room Mode Null Issues

benzi

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
Finally getting around to finalising new setup and getting a bit stuck with subwoofer....I'm well and truly down a rabbit hole...

@Gasp3621 @Conrad - I'm new to REW - I think I've got outputs correct but different to Room Sim which makes sense as room isn't perfect rectangle. Please can you provide some input as to how I could resolve this issue? Do I need to go dual or more subwoofers to resolve the null issue in my room?
Many thanks, Benzi

Current setup:
Yamaha RXA 3070 & Lyngdorf TDAI 3400
M&K Sound MP300 LCR
1 x Rel T9x (purely for aesthetics) but open to changing as long as it is white....

I've had a number of subs - Rel T5s, Rel Carbon Special, SVS SB 3000, BK Gemini etc.... but have normally allowed Yamaha YPAO to calibrate or more recently the Lyngdorf to run Room Perfect. Whilst I've largely been happy with the sound quality.....something isn't quite right with the subwoofer setup - most likely user error/lack of understanding.

I've bought a UMIK and run REW to understand a bit more about the room and from my initial outputs it look likes I've got a pretty big null (40Hz to 55Hz), whether I position sub in left/right corner or under centre speaker.
Room Modes 20-04-22.jpg

The room is 4.9m by 4.9m x 2.9m high with chimney breast, alcoves and bay window making it a challenging room to get right. MLP is in bay window about 4.25m away from screen/speakers:
IMG_20220319_171943.jpg

Any advice would be gladly received! Thank you

Hi All,
Finally getting around to finalising new setup and getting a bit stuck with subwoofer....I'm well and truly down a rabbit hole...