Hello and advice needed please

Kevd7761

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a noob and would like some advice please.

Can I connect the S/PDIF out on my new JVC flatscreen TV to something like this gadget, a digital to analogue audio converter, and then use the RCA output on that to connect to a pair of wireless headphones?

The reason for all of this hoohah is I've bought a new tv and when my missus plugs in her wireless headphones, it cuts out the tv's speakers, and I can't hear the audio.

I can use the audio out (RCA) from the back of the Freeview+ box, and that works the headphones fine, but when we want to watch a DVD the audio out (RCA) on the back of the DVD will not work the headphones. I've got a RCA to headphone jack adapter for the above.

The TV has no other audio out than S/PDIF/coax

Any help/advice would be gratefully received

Kev

Last edited:
-- As an eBay Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases --
Yes, the DAC will allow you to plug wireless headphones into the optical.

But... on some TVs, the optical output only works for the TV's internal tuner. It might not pass through audio from your external sources. You'd need to check the TV's manual for that.

You'll also have to go through the TV's settings and make sure it's sending stereo PCM out, not any Dolby format.

Thank you for your quick reply. I have the tv's manual in front of me now - it says "spdif out, outputs audio signals of the currently watched source. Use a spdif cable to transfer audio signals to a device that has a spdif input." So I think that might just work i.e. watching freeview via my freeview+ box, or my dvd player the watched audio should be output via the spdif, into the DAC, and out to the headphones. I think I'll buy that DAC gadget and give it a whirl!

Thanks so much for your reply audioenthusiast, I'll report back as soon as I've got it all connected up.

Kev

P.S. I've just checked and the tv's digital out is set to PCM

Last edited: