Height Speakers and 'Dolby Atmos Enabled' speakers - What's the difference?

Yungblud

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, Surround sound newbie here, so apologies for basic questions. I have a Pioneer VSX 933 AV receiver that decodes Atmos as a 5.1.2 set up. The two height channel speakers that I need to get will be mounted high up above by front left and right, pointing down. Now should I be purchasing some surround/elevation type speakers eg Dali Alteco C-1/SVS Prime elevation, or should I be buying elevation type speakers that say ' Dolby Atmos Enabled', like the Klipsch R-41SA/PSB Imagine XA? Are the 'DA Enabled' ones better in hearing sound from overhead? Thank you so much
Regards

Height speakers are placed up high and fire sound directly at you like a normal speaker.

Dolby Atmos Enabled speakers are lower levels speakers that project sound towards the ceiling (aka “bouncy house” speakers) which in theory is reflected to listener in an attempt to make it seem like its coming from above you.

Thanks Mr Wolf. That's what I thought about height speakers. But if I need to listen to Atmos, or DTS-X, do I need these height speakers to be labelled as 'Dolby Atmos Enabled'? The SVS Prime Elevation speakers (as an example) are NOT sold as this but can be used as Atmos speakers. At the moment i've just the 5.1 set up but want to purchase the correct height speaker type to hear overhead soundtrack from movies. Any help is really appreciated, I don't want atmos speakers that reflect sound off the ceiling but rather down at me

Height speakers are placed up high and fire sound directly at you like a normal speaker.

Dolby Atmos Enabled speakers are lower levels speakers that project sound towards the ceiling (aka “bouncy house” speakers) which in theory is reflected to listener in an attempt to make it seem like its coming from above you.

How many times did you rewrite that to try and make it not sound skeptical?