1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Height of screen when mounting it!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by slowpoke, Aug 2, 2005.

1. slowpoke

slowpoke

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Is it unhealthy (for neck and back) to have your home cinema screen too high. ie above the fireplace where you then have to look up. Anyone else see this as a problem
    Cheers
    Rob

2. Caimbeul

Caimbeul

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +26
    Im no expert but i would say it depends on the distance that you sit from the screen. you ideally want a screen at eye level when you are sitting on the sofa.

Looking up all the time (even slightly) could have implications IMHO. Mounting screens above fireplaces is a fad if you ask me. yes it can look good and save space but at the expense of the best viewing experience.

3. pjskel

pjskel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +124
    Not to mention heat from fire in Autumn/Winter possibly causing problems - inc. smoke/dust being attracted to it like iron filings to a magnet.

4. Ozzpot

Ozzpot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I am going to mount mine so eye level when sitting on the sofa is roughly in the bottom half of the screen.

This may seem low to some people at first because they compare it to hanging a picture or something rather than positioning a TV. If you think about it, the height of TVs that come with full table stand things or whatever is probably about right. That's probably around 25-30" to the bottom of the screen. I'll hang mine a bit higher than that. Probably 36" to the bottom of the screen. I intend to sit fairly close to it. About 5 or 6 feet away probably. I used to sit cross-legged on the floor 2 feet from the screen with my old CRT. Yes I am half blind now FYI. ;)