Headphone jacks for 55c8?

Discussion in 'OLED TVs Forum' started by Flycaster, Dec 4, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Will be getting an LG OLED55C8. In preparation for its arrival, I have been reviewing its set-up and operation stuff. However, at the moment, I am stymied as where the audio jack is located. I have Stennheiser RS 160 wireless headphones (not bluetooth) and need to hook into the TV, but have no idea where the jacks are??? Thanks.
     
  2. Crafty

    Crafty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +531
    Its on the rear of the TV, about 9" up (from the bottom of the stand) and about 12" in from the left (when looking from the front).
     
  3. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, Crafty. The phones need a L and R audio out. If I am correct, I think that the audio out jack you are referring to is a single jack...is it? A picture would be helpful. And if that is the case, I may have to find some kind of attachment to the phone's L/R jacks to allow for a single input into the TV in order to have them function properly (stereo). Anyone know what kind of attachment this would be?
     
  4. Crafty

    Crafty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +531
    yes looks like a normal headphone jack, so if you need L and R I assume you're going to phono and would need a lead like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, again. Yeah, that looks like what I'll need.
     
  6. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,390
    Does it have a line out, rather than a headphone out? I plan to use my headphone amp and Oppo PM3’s.
     
  7. Crafty

    Crafty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +531
    There is an optical out, thats all.
     
  8. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    This thread needs a bit of correction. The audio out on the oled55c8 is an optical out. Thus, as I am using analog phones I will have to use a digital to analog audio converter. They are cheap at around $6-$15. Would like to know which would be a good one?
     
  9. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,390
    Not according to the user guide on LGs site which I have now found. It will take a 3.5mm headphone connection.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,446
    No you don't, the 3.5mm stereo minijack to 2 Phono sockets cable that “Crafty” suggested is all you need, no conversion of any kind is needed.
     
  11. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey Audiopilot and JayCee, when I look at the same schematic (that came with my TV) that AP shows in his reply, there is nothing listed below the optical digital out. There is nothing showing headphones. In fact, when I first inspected the TV, I couldn't find a 3.5mm jack. Perhaps things have changed with the 2018 55c8??? If possible, I'd like to see a picture of just where that jack is located.
     
  12. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,446
    Surely it would be quicker just to take a look at the connections panel behind the TV rather than the user manual.
    The headphone minijack socket is black in colour and is at the bottom of the connection panel under the optical socket on UK models.
    It may make a difference as this is a UK-based forum and sometimes there are differences from models on your side of the pond.
    That's why I often ask posters to provide the full model number taken from the label on the rear of the TV.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018 at 5:20 PM
  13. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Been a member of AVF for quite a while, but never realized it was UK-based. Anyway, I have an oled55c8pua and here's a picture of its back and you can show me where the 3.5mm jack is:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,446
    You're in the US.
    You have a US model.
    There isn't one according to what I see on your picture.
    You'll need to use an Optical D/A convertor which has stereo RCA Phono out.
    The audio from the Optical out is at a fixed line level and will not vary with the volume control.
     
  15. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, J/C, exactly what I thought. Any idea which DAC would give reasonably clear stereo and not break the bank? Interesting how being on the other side of the pond occasionally makes a difference, eh?
     
  16. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,390
    7167A712-BCD5-4185-B615-3F5970130EB7.jpeg @Flycaster - Strange, your C8 has RS-232C next to the socket above the optical out, but that doesn’t look like an RS-232C socket. It’s near where the headphone/line out is on my C8, and looks the same. What’s going on there? Have you tried plug headphones in?

     
  17. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    My TV is not ready to be used until maybe late January, thus not hooked up and can't try headphones. However, let's wait for a US TV owner to tell us whether or not there is a bone fide 3.5mm headphone socket. Personally, I don't think so.
     
  18. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,390
    Ok, just trying to help...
     
  19. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,446
    Entering your model (ending in “PUA”) into Google brings up it's specs on LG's US website and inputs/outputs are listed thus...

    • Digital Audio Out (Optical)

      RS232C (Mini Jack)
    It does not have a headphone socket.
     
  20. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Didn't think so. So, my choices are either getting a DAC to convert from optical to analog, or buying bluetooth headphones. Most likely will go with the former as why buy new headphones as my headphones do a reasonable job, and a DAConly costs a few $. Only concern is that will using a DAC introduce any static into the headphones?
     
  21. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,390
    Go cables if you can. I have tried Bluetooth and couldn’t get the sound in sync.
     
  22. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,446
    Shouldn't do.
    Any I have used have been fine.
     
  23. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Any recommendations on DAC? BTW, would you know how volume would be controlled with a DAC hook=up (like from the phones, from the DAC, from the TV or from the hotwire box? My headphones do have volume control.
     
  24. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,446
    They're all similar, just read the reviews and buy from somewhere that has an easy return policy (e.g. Amazon). If the volume isn't loud enough you'd need a headphone amp, again reasonably cheap and readily available.
    As your headphones have a volume control I'd just wait and try them before deciding if you need an amp.
     
  25. Flycaster

    Flycaster
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, again, J/C
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice