1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDTV xbox without component?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by hwharton, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. hwharton

    hwharton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I was considering getting a NTSC xbox to benefit from the HDTV output but the LCD tv (JVC LT23E31) i was considering doesn't have a component input as far as i know.

    This might be a stupid question but is there anyway i can get HD output from the xbox with out component? or is HD only available via component?

    Cheers
    H
     
  2. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +941
    The hd signals will only be transferred via component as far as i know as they are progressive apart from 1080i, and if your tv will accept them, someone will no doubt correct me if i am wrong. I am sure i have seen on this site a link to a dvi lead if your tv accepts that.
     
  3. Justinrog

    Justinrog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems that your screen may accept a PC input, so you could get a component to VGA adaptor capable of HDTV like the one I got. My plasma was unable to accept the signals via the component connection due to a limitation in its software, but the VGA box works great at all HDTV resolutions.

    I have this one:

    http://www.dcslinks.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=452

    J
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    do you know if thats a legit VGA converter, or just a cheap linedoubler?

    X2VGA is highly recommended by a lot of people, but your solution looks good as it would also support (adding in the splitter), driving my projector and LCD screen directly via VGA (assuming it doesn't downgrade the signal too much).

    mmm.
     
  5. Justinrog

    Justinrog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    It happens to output to 2 VGA sources, however, its main function for me is the ability to set it manually for any HDTV standard and for it to auto-detect the signal as well. I set it to auto and it has so far displayed any HDTV signal I have thrown at it. All very nice quality. Lik Sang also has a similar one now, I do not think they had it when I was purchasing mine, although it is a slightly different shape but it seems like the same technology.

    Best thing about this is, I can use any HDTV component source and feed it to the plasma, not just the xbox.

    J
     
  6. hwharton

    hwharton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only thing with using the Pc input is that with some screens, and i'm not sure about the JVC, you get a slower response rate than using the tv inputs. Obviously i'm slightly worried about it as i don't want any ghosting or smearing whem i'm playing.
     
  7. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    "you could get a component to VGA adaptor capable of HDTV "

    A number of people have mentioned this on the forums before and it works well apparently.

    "The only thing with using the Pc input is that with some screens, and i'm not sure about the JVC, you get a slower response rate than using the tv inputs"

    This is also correct. Some plasma panels notably the LG one I have, get this problem. Causes bad lip synch so component only.

    I cant believe that any LCD TV available now does have component. The cheapy Relysis 17" Widescreen we have in the bedroom has component and it is right at the bottom of the food chain in terms of LCD TV.

    Incidentally you dont need a NTSC Xbox to go the HD route. Pal xbox can do high def but needs to be chipped to unlock the functionality. Also need to install a region patch for it to work right. This is the route I am taking. Got all the stuff but not setup yet.... the rooms not ready :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...