1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDTV Via SAT PC

Discussion in 'TVs' started by johnelf, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. johnelf

    johnelf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +78
    Good Evening All

    I have just bought for fun a SkyStar 2 card for an old pc to view HD on Astra.
    Whilst all channels (after usual teething probs) tuned in fine on My Theatre, and i am able to view free to air fine, on the HD channels, I get picture jerking and break-ups, like sky in heavy rain. I have a 100% signal using a 90 inch gregorian dish, so must be my pc?
    This is a P4 1.7 g with 256 Ram and a gforce3 graphics with 64mb video card.

    So the question is, wht part of the pc do I need to replace to view HD, or do i just need a better machine alround? :lease:

    Regards
    John
     
  2. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,509
    I think its time to treat yourself to a new pc, aroud the 3.0 Ghz mark should do with a 512mg of memeory and a new graphics card such as a geforce 6600gt.
     
  3. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if the HD is mpeg-2 then wouldnt a mpeg decoder card be ok? works for me. i can play 1080i stuff fine and i have a 2500+ with a gig ram.
     
  4. johnelf

    johnelf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +78
    Thanks Razor & Tomos

    Having looked at the CPU performance, it is working at 100%. Tomos, remember I only have a 1.7 with 256 ram. So me thinks it is time to hit the credit card again and get a new Dell.

    Many thanks both.

    John
     
  5. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,509
    :smashin:
     
  6. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    on my 2500+, without hardware acceleration turned on, high def stuff hits 100% CPU usage - and stutters like crazy on anything thats not low bitrate like credits etc. with it on, it hits 20% odd
     
  7. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,509
    I would personally just get a new pc, its now so cheap to buy a new pc. You could build one yourself for around £500

    Mobo - £80
    Chip AMD64 3400 - £110
    Memory 512mg - £55
    Case and Fan - £60
    Hardrive 200gig - £90
    Graphics Card - from £50 and up.
    DVD writer - £40

    As your looking to support HD material you might want a better card try the geforce 6600gt, it has pure video which is specially designed for HD material.

    I use the X800XTPE from ATI. Im very pleased with the card.

    If you dont fancy building a pc most manufactures should do a similar spec for a couple of hundred more.
     
  8. johnelf

    johnelf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +78
    Well just to let you know Razor and all:-

    Ordered a Dell Dimension 8400(high spec) with P4 3.2 with 320HD 1024RAM & 256 Nvida 6800 Graphics card all for just £479 inc vat & delivery using the factory outlet division.

    Hope that should do the trick for HD via sat and playing WMHDV DVD's!
    Thanks all anyway.
    John
     
  9. Endeavour

    Endeavour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I was trying out the trailers from www.wmvhd.com last night. My PC has ASUS Nforce2 board with Athlon XP2700, Radeon 9700 Pro, 1Gb RAM. Microsoft's system check suggested my PC would be too slow but they seemed to play OK. My old 19" CRT isn't really ideal for investigating the image quality. So I am going to have to drag the tower box into the lounge. I might have a go with my Kids XPMCE Shuttle boxes too. They have faster CPU's but are using integrated graphics and less memory. I might try streaming it of WiFi for a laugh.
     
  10. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,509

    Congratulations on your new purchase. It should be fine for HD and as a HTPC. Good price as well. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...