Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

HDTV over a LAN

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by jamesrich, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am having trouble watching these WM9 movies over my LAN; they stutter very bad, though locally they are fine. I have an AMD 2800+ (166 bus, 333 RAM) even though I am running at 100/Full Duplex from both PCs.

    Is this because my cheap SMC 1211 LAN card sucks processor time away from WMP?

    Has anyone come across this one, if this is the case can anyone reccomend a cheap NIC that is more independant of the CPU? :lease:
     
  2. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +136
    Found that streaming any movie type files over the lan does not really work.. though xvid files (350mb) did work ok and that was on a wireless g link on my network. HD/WM9 are just too bulky and processor intensive I think for it to work well.

    Matt
     
  3. kunwho

    kunwho
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My house is wired with CAT5 cables all routed to a Scan 16port 10\100 router. I use my motherboard network ports and have no problem with the HDTV via LAN.

    I wouldn't trust wireless lan as the I think you need at least 6mbps stream to play 1080i HDTV signal.
     
  4. Deron

    Deron
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm hoping to try it when the new Kiss players come out...

    Hopefully streaming over a wireless g network should be acceptable.

    Failing that I'll go for the hdd version...
     
  5. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm not using a wireless LAN. Which LAN chip do you use on your motherboard, and what processor do you have installed. Thanks

     
  6. db1234

    db1234
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have no problems streaming HD material from an old P3 to a 2.4 GIG P4, both using onboard NICs.

    Try setting both NICs to half duplex, full duplex can cause all sorts of funny problems...

    Cheers,

    Darren
     
  7. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Fixed it, upgraded to latest SMC 1255 NIC drivers.
    You can close the thread mods.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice