1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hdtv only one hdmi input

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by christhedon, Sep 4, 2005.

  1. christhedon

    christhedon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi,

    Can you get splitters for hdmi inputs like the scart splitters you can get?

    If your TV only has one HDMI input and you have two hdmi sources what are the options to get them both working on HDMI?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  2. TheDoctor

    TheDoctor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    Hi Chris

    It is possible to get HDMI switchers but they are expensive. Keene Electronics sell one for £280 and you will only get one extra HDMI input (from 1 to 2). But it does come with a remote to switch the inputs and both inputs will be HDCP compliant. They call it the "HDMI switchbox".

    All the best

    Doc
     
  3. Shakey_Jake33

    Shakey_Jake33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unless you have 2 HDMI devices already, and plugging them into the DVI is a no-go, then you should hold on to your cash. When HDTV becomes more mainstream, I'd imagine prices would become more sensible.
     
  4. kourosh

    kourosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +907
    depending on your equipment you can daisy chain them my tv and dvd player has only 1 but my amp has 2 hdmi 1 in and 1 out so im able to connect my dvd to amp via hdmi which does both picture and sound and then connect amp to tv :thumbsup:
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    christthedon

    There are lots of HDMI and DVI (with HDCP) switching and distribution products already on the market.

    You can have anything from 2:1 through to 8:1 switchers and 2:2 through to 2:6 Distribution switchers.

    Some HDMI switchers are Digital Video only - others offer Digital Video with Digital Audio (on an Optical Output) and the latest units offer full spec HDMI+Stereo or Multi-channel audio on HDMI connectors.

    A Gefen 2:1 (Digital Video Only) HDMI switcher will cost you approx £175.00.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    It looks like these two products have now been officially announced so I will post the link to them here.

    Meridian have produced two products, one a HDMI extender allowing HDMI cable runs of up to 50m and a 4 to 1 switcher that also includes the extender technology. Both carry video up to 1080p and multi channel audio. The extender technology in both units corrects signal defects from –20dB to +6dB and improves image quality and stability, reduces noise and jitter on both short and long cable runs.

    Full integration to Meridian systems via 500/G series comms is ensured plus RS232, IR and manual switching for non meridian systems. Prices yet to be announced although I am sure that they will be at CEDIA in a few days time.

    -Ian
     
  7. mjbtin

    mjbtin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +383
    The new range of Sagem dlps have two hdmi inputs,so if you are thinking of getting a large rp dlp and plan on getting Sky hd and an hd player maybe worth considering
     
  8. banditash

    banditash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can have a look on here for HDMI splitterhttp://www.dtrovision.com/index.htms
     
  9. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    What do you need 2 HDMI conenctions for ? I can only think of DVD players that have HDMI or are you thinking of future proofing ?

    Richie.
     
  10. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    In the very near future.
    Sky HD box
    Playstation 3
     
  11. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    I suppose you could use a HDMI to DVI jobby if you have DVI too, i'm assume that would be ok, then you could just connect the PS3 to an amp with via optical
     
  12. mediamogul

    mediamogul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chatham,Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    I can recommend this companyAVLink-Electronics in 4 days i recieved a 1:4 Dvi switch box.It cost around £215 delivered,it included 4 pretty good quality dvi-dvi leads
     
  13. mediamogul

    mediamogul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chatham,Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/AVLink-Electronics_W0QQssPageNameZviQ3asibQ3astoreviewQQtZkm[/URL] Sorry link didnt work
     

Share This Page

Loading...