1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDTV and Sky EPG

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Tim13, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. Tim13

    Tim13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Article here on Digital Spy got me thinking - where will Sky put High Definition channels in the EPG when the service launches? Will Sky place tkem next to their standard definition equivalents or will they introduce a separate High Defiition section or even a separate High Definition EPG?

    If I were Sky. I'd probably place them separately so that viewers can scroll up and down through High Defintion channels without having to go back to nasty standard definition. :) This would then be a selling point to content providers and may encourage more channels to migrate to HD, by giving advertisers access to the significant spending power of the early adopter audience!
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Whether SD is "nasty" really has a lot to do with who is paying the bills :D
     
  3. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    I would imagine it is possible to have an HD-only EPG where the HD versions of SD channels replace the SD versions on the same EPG numbers on HD receivers, and remain invisible to SD viewers who have the SD variant mapped to the same numbers?

    This would be a bit like the mapping of BBC One and ITV regions to 101 and 103?

    (Think of it as an HD region...)
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    but if Sky One for example, is only a partial simulcast of the SD version, then I'd still need access to the SD version (unless its a mix of HD and SD on the same channel, but I would hope they'd avoid that as too confusing)
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I would expect the HD channels to have it's own seperate listing which as mentioned would probably not be seen by standard digiboxes although SKY may include it as a promotional tool just as non-subscription listings appear now.
     
  6. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    I'd hope for the HD service they come up with something better for the EPG than the current system - preferably more like you get on Freeview boxes where you can call up Now & Next for a number of channels while the programme you're watching is shown either in a small window, in the background, or even just as audio only.
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    In hindsight the original SKY+ EPG and how it integrates with dual tuners was not the huge advance it could have been but I doubt we will see any major changes to the system.

    From a personal view only I don't see the need to tie up a tuner to show a PIP when viewing EPG data and while more effective caching of the EPG transponder data would allow "i" information without leaving the main channel is it really that much of an issue after all you know it will bring it's own unique sets of bugs and user problems with it:)
     
  8. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    It seems as if Sky1 HD may be a simulcast of present Sky1 - perhaps Sky will follow the German model of Pro7 HD and Sat1 HD who will have simulcast channels in hi-def. All non hi-def material will be upconverted for the HDTV channel, and of course native HD will go out as such. Bit like my DVD player which upconverts standard DVD nicely....

    H
     
  9. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    I'd be very surprised if Sky One was different in HD and SD schedule terms. They'd have to call it something else other than Sky One if this were the case surely?

    I'd expect Sky One HD to be broadcast just like the US HD channels. HD programmes in HD, 16:9 SD shows upconverted to 16:9 HD, 4:3 SD programmes pilllarboxed and upconverted to 16:9 HD (there are no 4:3 HD modes). Content simulcast on both.

    If they were to not simulcast they may have rights issues if they showed HD and SD versions of shows at different times. (As this would count as two showings not one - as would be the case with a simulcast)
     

Share This Page

Loading...