HDMI V VGA on Toshiba 37wlt66

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by nick501, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    Looking for opinions with this tv specifically (37"). VGA (imho) gives a far better overall picture than component for games and HD DVDs and just wondered if using a HDMI equipped console would give another noticable 'step up' in PQ.

    If so, is it a big enough jump to justify a new console?

    would also be great to hear how the ps3 via hdmi is handled.

    thanks.
     
  2. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    HI mate, well i have this exact tv, and i now have a hdmi 360 (old one broke!).
    i love hdmi picture, its nigh on perfect imho
    however we disagree on vga issue - i have both vga and component and even with new dash settings i couldnt get the colour balance i liked with vga
    because of the lack of adjustable presets on this tv, i found calibrating the set for vga to be wildly defferent from my "normal" settings for ps3 and watching tv, a real pain when switching between them
    i preferred the vga lack of overscan though
    hdmi is best of both.
    one thing i always noticed on this set using analague inputs (vga or component) was that off axis if the screen was totally black you could see a bit noise/grain - hdmi solves this issue completely.
    well happy.
    oh and ps3 looks fantastic on this telly too , and i find they both dont need calibrating differentlly - settings same for each when both via hdmi
     
  3. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    Thanks mate. Knowing what you do now would you have replaced your old 360 for a HDMI one though?

    Whenever i calibrate colour with DVE the colour is always bang on with VGA where as component i can never seem to get 100% I suppose there are slight variations with each TV of the same model though.

    I have my PC and SD DVD player connected via HDMI.
     
  4. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    HMMM
    well the difference is subtle, but certainly noticeable
    depends how picky you are, i am very!
    i certainly dont think its worth a great investment for the small improvement
    i was lucky as my replacement was hdmi
    guess it depends how much it will cost u
     
  5. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,733
    I dont have the 37WLT66 but I have the 26WLT66 and Component looked like it suffered from interference (on dark or grey backgrounds I could definitely see interference) and while VGA improved this HDMI got rid of it completely so personally the upgrade from a launch day 360 to an Elite was well worth it.
     
  6. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    the interference you mention is noise created by the a/d process on the sets analogue inputs, most sets have it but some are better than wlt series in this respect.
    hdmi eliminates this as the interface is purely digital and noise free
    worth it to me , but a my friends couldnt see any diff :)
     
  7. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,733
    I said to my brother that it must be something to do with the analogue inputs but he just said it was normal but personally I couldnt enjoy HD films when fuzzy lines could be seen in the background, felt like I was watching VHS :suicide:
     
  8. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    I am ultra fussy about my TV's

    I take it you weren't using 1366X768 when you had your VGA cable.

    I use 1024X768 Wide.

    When i saw the Arcade 360's going for £150 i was tempted to see what it was like with hdmi. I dont like the thought of overscan though.

    decisions decisions.

    what i really want is this: http://www.home-entertainment.toshi.../pages/lcdplasma-regzax-42x3030d?opendocument

    or this:http://www.home-entertainment.toshi...pages/lcdplasma-regzaxf-40xf355d?opendocument

    Thanks for the comments lads:thumbsup:
     
  9. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,733
    No I couldnt use that res as everything would get shifted off to the left.

    I either settled on 1024X768 or 1280x1024 and while it got rid of most of the interference I still wasnt happy so it was either upgrade to an HDMI 360 or buy a new TV.

    As for those TV's, they are indeed lovely, infact I was thinking of selling my 26WLT66 to my brother who is leaving home soon and upgraing to a 40XF355D :D
     
  10. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    oh that sounds like more than quantization noise mate, sounds like a fault. tosh sets notoriously bad when it comes to stuff like that, lot of peeps on here moaning about crosstalk between various inputs.......
    any u sorted with hdmi !
     
  11. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    the overscan is ok on hdmi, better than the component

    yeah id love full hd set, beware though, the black level detail on those new tosh sets isnt that hot (thought tbh its not so hot on 66) - and the build quality of that range is even cheaper than 66 series, which was a step down from 58 series.
    they are budget 1080p sets - personally i'd buy sony 40w2000 they are buttons cheap now and having seen both sets in action the sony is better
    and has more adjustable presets etc
    just my 2 pence :)
     
  12. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    I have had 6 toshiba LCD's over the past 2 years. And after the trouble i've had with them (well, me being fussy actually) i vowed to get a different make next time.

    My brother has a 40" sony X series LCD and i have seen the 360 and ps3 via HDMI through it and although it's very nice I'm not sure i'd rush out and get one over the toshiba's

    the toshiba 40xf355d *looks* like a winner. (plus the few reviews i've seen seem to say it performs pretty good aswell)

    I wouldnt consider them 'budget' TV's either. Thats what Samsungs are! lol.
     
  13. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    budget is prob slightly harsh yes ! mid range
     
  14. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    We'll agree on midrange:thumbsup:

    As i was typing this earlier, i had a phone call from my brother after he'd been tinkering and comparing HDMI, Component, 720p and 1080P on his setup and his conclusion was that 'it's not worth the ££'s for the relatively small improvenent'

    Once i've got something in my head though...........
     
  15. gingerjedi

    gingerjedi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I was wondering why when the X-series came out they were cheaper than the 68 series? I have the 37WLT68 and can't fault it to be honest, it has 3x HDMI rather than 2x for the X-series, so are the old 720P panels better quality than the new 1080P panels?
     
  16. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    i'd prob agree
    in game, in motion - u will not notice
    static images - if u are looking - u will

    if u are as picky as me - do it :)
     
  17. raymondo1

    raymondo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +88
    i have no exp of your set tbh mate
    but im sure its great
    mearly stating that imho the $ony 40w2000 is better tv than tosh 42_3030 series
    having seen both with 360/ps3 on em

    tbh most panels are bloody great when fed with hd material

    the diff seem to be in their ability to deal with sd material and make it look ok!
     

Share This Page

Loading...