1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI Upgrades

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by AD Roser, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    I am pleased to confirm that the following projectors can be upgraded to receive a HDCP compliant HDMI Digital input.

    Domino 20
    Domino 30
    Grand Cinema HT300Plus
    Grand Cinema HT300Xtra

    Cost of the upgrade is £1300 inc vat plus P&P

    The 300HD can also be upgraded to the latest specification including HD2+ upgrade, and all new processing electronics at a cost of £3100 inc vat plus P&P.

    Turnaround time is approx 14 days.

    Unfortunately none of the other models can be updated.

    Kind regards


    Alan Roser
    Managing Director
    SIM2 UK Ltd
     
  2. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    out of interest can the 300xtra-H be updated to a ht300E spec?
     
  3. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yes it can, but your looking at £1200 for the DC3 chip alone.

    Regards

    Alan
    SIM2 UK Ltd
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Realy, is that all. its cheaper than selling my unit then buying another, i would loose much more that way.

    Could you send me a quote via PM if you dont whish to quote here.
    Ive heard the DC3 realy boosts contrast and improves black level and brightness so that would be good.

    Would i also get the new and improved software that goes with the 300E?

    Put me down for very interested, quote me happy
     
  5. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    :laugh:

    Gary.
     
  6. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Alan

    Have sent you an email, look forward to hearing from you.

    I go skiing saturday so hope to hear from you friday if poss :smashin:
     
  7. coolcat

    coolcat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +11
    Alan is this option new as when we ordered the HT300E last September our dealer offered to have a 300xtra-H upgraded to HT300E spec. My husband phoned Sim2 UK and was told this wasn't possible, therefore we thought the dealer was trying to pull a fast one :blush:

    On another note we now have the HT300E installed but there isn't any serial number or ID on the projector to state that it is the 'E' version. Is there any way of finding out via the onscreen menu etc?

    Regards

    Linda
     
  8. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    There is a s/n on the underneath of the projector. If not, someone must have removed it. :nono:

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  9. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Linda,

    Yes this is a new option, I''m afraid we hadn't developed the kit at the time of your purchase as the DC3 and HT300E was very new.

    As Jeff mentioned, on the base of the unit you should see a Silver label detailing the model number etc. and the serial number should be next to that.

    Kind Regards

    Alan Roser
    SIM2 UK Ltd
     
  10. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    AD Roser

    just back from skiing and no news. are you still sorting costing or do i need to take this up with my dealer or even Jeff for that matter?

    Would welcome a response

    Thanks
     
  11. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
  12. AD Roser

    AD Roser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Oops Sorry missed this one :suicide:

    Please send me a emial to alan.roser@sim2.co.uk and I will deal with your enquiry.

    Regards


    Alan
     
  13. Traffic

    Traffic
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone had this upgrade?

    If you have, has it improved the picture and by how much? :)

    I'm starting down the HDMI road and would appreciate any advice on whether or not this is a worthwhile option.

    Many thanks all :thumbsup:

    Traffic
     
  14. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    I think you would be better off putting the money towards a 1080p display that has HDMI + DC3, or perhaps some of the newer HDMI based 720p projectors that are soon to be out that have like 5000:1 contrast ratio etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...