HDMI to run in the wall

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by murph200140, Nov 1, 2017.

  1. murph200140

    murph200140
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi , I'm looking for a reasonable priced 10m HDMI to have channeled into the walls. Haven't got 4k yet but probably will in the future. Richersounds are suggesting the qed but they are £100. I've looked at the Neet ones on Amazon , but obviously with them being in the wall don't want issues in the future,. Any advice would be great. Cheers murph
     
  2. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +982
    Can't suggest one but I would put two in, so you have a backup in case of problems. I have one (8m) installed under the floorboards (QED) and it failed at one of the connectors, so short of ripping up the flooring, I had to run an external one to my projector.
     
  3. murph200140

    murph200140
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    Richer sounds said run a backup, which I might be able to do but not at qed prices. If your qed failed then not even the expensive ones are 100% reliable. Might just buy a couple of mid range ones.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,540
    In-wall - any cable can fail, become damaged or become obsolete.

    Conduit - if possible large diameter, smooth bore with a pull cord is a good option.

    CAT6 - is a good backup option for HDMI (will require suitable Extender set if you ever have to use it) plus at least one CAT cable for putting devices on your Network.

    HD (1080p) - you can get away with a decent gauge Standard Speed Copper Cable at 10m.

    4K UHD (2160p) - at 10m you need to be going to a Fibre or Hybrid Fibre Cable, Hybrid Fibre Optic HDMI cable – The Media Factory

    Joe
     
  5. murph200140

    murph200140
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the advice Joe
     
  6. AllTaken

    AllTaken
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +375
  7. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,168
    What @Joe Fernand said! I have just been down the same route in my kitchen. Installed 32mm flexible duct and a RuiPro hybrid fibre 10m. I used 32mm as I had 3 or 4 bends to negotiate.

    Be warned, if you are pulling 10m through any sort of ducting horizontally, you will need to lube both the puller cable and the HDMI cable. Friction of cables over 10m is a biatch. I used washing up liquid as my lube.
     

Share This Page

Loading...