HDMI Switch Box Help

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by joshdgk, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. joshdgk

    joshdgk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I want to connect my television to my logitech surround sound system, so that I can use it when playing my Xbox 360, however, my 32" HD TV doesn't have an audio output jack. Therefore, the only other way I can think of connecting it, is by connecting it directly from the xbox. I was wondering if there are any HDMI interfaces/switchboxes, which have the ability to split the signal into a HD video output and an Audio Output. This means I could then connect the Video to my television, while connecting the Audio to my surround system. Sorry, if there are any topics on this already, I'm new to the forum ;)

    cheers.
     
  2. Member 319784

    Member 319784
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
  3. joshdgk

    joshdgk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I was to buy your item, what cable would I require in order to connect the audio to my speakers, as that audio output is not a regular 3.5mm audio jack is it?
     
  4. Member 319784

    Member 319784
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
    They are digital audio outputs, not stereo.

    They output digital 5.1 for use with surround sound AV receivers.

    S/PDIF TOSLINK (Optical) & digital coax audio outputs are available
     
  5. joshdgk

    joshdgk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Member 319784

    Member 319784
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
    Only if it had a digital audio input.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,517
    Hello joshdgk

    If you want to 'hear' the TV audio from its inbuilt Analogue and or Digital Tuners you will need an audio Out on the TV and a matching Audio In on the sound system.

    If the TV lacks any audio only Output sockets (2RCA or Optical) it may have a 'VCR' SCART socket which will deliver Stereo audio over SCART and you will require a SCART to multiple RCA cable to connect to the sound system.

    Your Xbox will have a Red and White RCA Stereo audio Output.

    I believe your system has a single Stereo audio Input - you may therefore require a 2x1 (or larger) Stereo audio switch; assuming you do want TV and Xbox sound via the sound system.

    Probably best to provide a link to your TV and confirm which flavour of Xbox you have.

    Joe
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...