1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI Query

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by mcf, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. mcf

    mcf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Apologies if this has been asked before. If I have a PAN 42PW7B with a HDMI board, can I drive all my video sources through the HDMI Interface e.g connect an X-Box, Sky + and DVDS97EBS to a SARX70 and then connect the SARX70 to the plasma panel. Or can I only view HDMI sources through the HDMI Interface

    Thanks

    Matt
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    unless you buy a scaler (Lumagen DVi or Iscan HD+) which can upscale and digitise analogue up to HDMI then you can us HDMI board for all sources (£8-1000) tho but a sclaer will give you a good increase in PQ as well as full connectivity via HDMI (Panny is limited to the HDMI signals it will accpet tho)
     
  3. Brooktop

    Brooktop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    HD - You remind me of that Norris McWhirter guy on Record Breakers. Roy Castle could never out-fox him ...and there's nothing you dont know either! lol :laugh:
    If only retail assistants had a fraction of your knowledge!!!
     
  4. mcf

    mcf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks HD, so I could get a scaler, ditch the need for the Panasonic amp as I already have a half decent amp for audio and push all my video socurces via the scaler to the Panny HDMI interface?

    Brooktop is right you are a font of all AV knowledge, also thanks for the write-up of the group test you did, I found it very informative.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    mcf yes it will work with Iscan HD+ and certain Lumagens. Iscan HD+ will set you back aorund £900
     
  6. mcf

    mcf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'd better go and sweeten the wife up then, I'll see if she wants to buy me the scaler for a valentines present. A good exchange for a bunch of long stemmed roses that will not cost me anything as my brother owns a florist me thinks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...