HDMI picture mode switching problem

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Anjou, Aug 7, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Anjou

    Anjou
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    792
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +74
    I've just discovered that my Sony Bravia won't let me change the picture ratio of stuff over the HDMI input - ie, I can't put 4:3 stuff into 14:9. I just get 'feature not available with this signal'.

    Is this just Sony being daft or is it the same for all TVs using HDMI?
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    It depends what signal you're feeding it. If its 720p or 1080i then by definition these are widescreen only and so many TVs won't allow you adjust the aspect ratio.
     
  3. Anjou

    Anjou
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    792
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +74
    Thought it might be something like that. It's just annoying when watching 4:3 DVDs like Frasier. Oh well..

    Cheers.
     
  4. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    You should beable to select this on the DVD player.
     
  5. Anjou

    Anjou
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    792
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +74
    I can - got the Sony 76H - but it just puts the 4:3 image in the center of the screen with black bars. I can opt for FULL mode instead but this just stretches it. I suppose I could tell the DVD player I've got a 4:3 TV every time I watch material in that format, but that's a bit of a pain.

    Oh well...just have to live with the black bars.
     
  6. PAUL_M01

    PAUL_M01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Personnaly i much prefer black bars to a stretched/zoomed in picture.

    If your TV is black, you don't even notice them after a while :)
     
  7. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    I'm assuming that your DVD player is upscaling to either a 720p or 1080i signal. Why not, for 4:3 material, output this at 576p which should give you all the optional aspect modes back, including 14:9 .
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice