HDMI Pass through on a Pioneer VSX 2021-Help!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Cyruszaydan, Dec 22, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Cyruszaydan

Cyruszaydan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    I would like to start by saying that I have tried to find the answer to my question(s) in previous threads and on the VSX 2021 thread with no luck. I have also tried to go through the manual, but again I'm not sure I've got the answer I'm looking for. One reason for this is that I'm totally new to the world of AV receivers/speakers and have probably misunderstood or missed the relevant information.:(

I've just put together my first set up - my list of equipment includes a Pioneer VSX 2021 AVR, Pioneer BDP 440 and Monitor Audio Bronze series speakers. Before I try to set everything up - I need a couple of points clarified and am hoping someone can help me.

Firstly, If I put all the devices though the AVR using HDMI cables, would I need to switch the AVR on every time I need to listen to sound? Has my receiver got HDMI pass though with all the inputs? My devices are my blu ray player, PS3, Apple TV and a Sky HD+ box. I also have a Wii which I would connect using component cables.

With the sky box, I understand that I will need to use an optical cable to get more than stereo sound. Again, can I put both the HDMI and optical cable though the AVR, with the sound coming out of the TV if the receiver stays on standby and the sound coming out of the speakers as 5.1 if I put the receiver on. From the VSX 2021 thread,I know I may need to assign some inputs/outputs, but is this possible?

Finally, In order to still get sound out of the television, will the output from the AVR need to go into the TV's ARC HDMI input?

Thank you in advance- any advise will really be appreciated!:rolleyes:

2. tommy060289

tommy060289
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0