Hdmi over coax

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by dts_boy, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +216
    Not sure if this is the right thread but I am looking at sending hd video over coax to my kitchen tv. The only cable run to it at the moment is a coax cable which is joined on the side of my house. I have looked at hdmi over coax tx/Rx kits which look good but my concerns are will this work given the cable has been joined or does it need a single unbroken feed? Don't have an option to run a new cable - is this the best option as I don't want to spend the money and then it not work...
     
  2. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +9,814
  3. TVR Driver

    TVR Driver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +6
  4. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +216
    Having done some more research I have found wireless hdmi sender / receiver kits, reviews are favourable and quite a bit cheaper at £120. Have ordered a kit to try - will post back my thoughts once it's here.
    Can't see the point in paying an installer to do this for me - it's a simple enough job and whilst I don't mind paying for expertise that would be taking it a bit too far!
    Thanks anyway
     
  5. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    Whilst I can see your way of thinking an installer may charge less than you think. The last baluns I fitted I charged £40 over retail installed with termination. The whole price of the coax baluns should come in a good deal shy of £500. I use wyrestorm almost exclusively. Can't get around the thought that wires are more reliable than wireless and although the baluns need 75ohm cable they seem robust enough. Let us know how you get on with the wireless extender. Regards Shorty
     
  6. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +216
    Don't realY have an issue paying installer - I had a company fit my surround system and program remotes but they want to charge me £145 to install baluns which I have decided is something I can do myself. Will see how I get on with the wireless ones first - if they don't work I will probably run a cat5 cable, it will be better in the long run I think.
     
  7. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    No I understand where your coming from if the £145 is with cable that's a bargain really if you run the cable outside use external grade stuff and make sure you know which run is which because twin baluns don't take kindly to having the cables swapped. Any advice for product or cable give us a hollar
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice