Question Hdmi Over Cat5E

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by slowgsxr97, Jun 21, 2015.

1. slowgsxr97

slowgsxr97
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please bear with me, im new to all of this. If this is posted in the wrong section, mods feel free to move this.

I have just gotten new tv service at my house. I want to put all my cable boxes in the basement. I have 2 cat5e wires going to each room, 4 rooms total. I need to get hdmi over my cat5e. Distances are approx. 75' 40' 25' 25'.

All the cable boxes are RF, so I wont need anything for IR. I just need the hdmi signal through the cat5e I assume? 3 rooms will need wall plates, as the standard gang boxes are mounted up the wall, for wall mount applications. the last one will had to go through the floor, so I wont need a faceplate setup there. Do the face plates they sell fit a standard electrical single gang box?

What would you recommend for this type of set up. Do they need to be amplified in anyway? If anyone has a setup like this first hand I would love for you to chime in. Im on a budget, but do not want to buy something cheap just to replace it in 6 months, so im willing to compromise a little there.

Im want to order all my stuff tomorrow. Thanks In advance, slower.

2. slowgsxr97

slowgsxr97
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone? Im ready to order. :)

3. slowgsxr97

slowgsxr97
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. andy1249

andy1249
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,659
    According to the ads....

" You won't need to provide external power - it gets the power it needs from the HDMI source device."

Note that this is incredibly bad practice and is against the HDMI specifications.