1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI or not to HDMI

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by smurf, Feb 12, 2004.

  1. smurf

    smurf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gillingham
    Ratings:
    +2
    First post, so apologises for my stupidity: -

    I am considering buying a Pioneer PDP-434 plasma, Pioneer 868AVi DVD, Pioneer VSX AX5i + Kef KHT 5005 speaker system.

    But am concerned with the following: -

    - Comments made in the forum regarding the performance of the Pioneer PDP-434, doesn't seem to be the greatest thing since sliced bread in all circumstances.

    - That the Plasma + DVD player only have HDMI picture, not true HDMI which is picture + sound.

    Would you buy the above or wait for the true HDMI equiped systems to come out (hopefully later this year), I am concerned that such a large expenditure would be redundant within 6 months.

    Thanks for any help. Smurf
     
  2. emad

    emad
    Banned for trading fraud

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smurf

    I'll follow this thread with much interest as this is exactly the kit I am buying - except I'm getting the 504 (have it on order). I already have the 5005 and looking to order the AX5 and 868 in the near future.

    Regards

    Emad
     
  3. Kraken

    Kraken
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm finding it difficult to understand why you want the HDMI connector to carry audio to your plasma. Surely you'll use a digital connector (coax or optical) to your amp, and thus get the sounds from the amp and KEFs?
     
  4. emad

    emad
    Banned for trading fraud

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually Kraken it is even better, with the 868 connected to the AX5 you'd use the i-Link for digital jitter-free sound.
     
  5. Kraken

    Kraken
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So even less need for audio-enabled HDMI then, at least with this proposed setup.
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Not sure where you're getting your info' from but HDMI from an 868 to a 504 does carry both video and audio.
     
  7. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    To clarify - the audio transmitted via HDMI at the mo is 2-channel only, V2 HDMI will carry 6 channel audio. However, in this context it it irrelevant since the plasma only has two speakers (if added at all) and the AMP gets its signal from iLink connection...
     
  8. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chips for second generation HDMI are alrady announced and should hit the stores during the year. Still didn't feel a need for waiting though.

    Think about buying the AX5 again though. It has a fan and together with the fan in the media box of 434 the humming might KILL your nerves during silent film scenes or listening to music.

    I cancelled my order for Pio VSX-C501 and bought a Denon 1804 instead sacrificing a lot of handling comfort via remotes and SR+

    All Pio engineers must be deaf. Why not install fans which only run when really needed ?
     
  9. emad

    emad
    Banned for trading fraud

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    joys_R_us

    Is the 434 fan really that loud!! I have sensitive ears and a 504 on order!

    Emad
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I have a 504 and an AX5 and I've never noticed either fan when using the kit.

    In fact, I didn't even realise the AX5 had a fan until I shut everything off one night and just before I switched the amp off I turned the volume right down using the front panel control and heard a very faint whisper.

    The fan in my Sky+ box is far worse than all the other fans put together.
     
  11. emad

    emad
    Banned for trading fraud

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Brogan - what a relief
     
  12. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also very sensitive and am thinking about buying a closed cabinet for the media box. It is not very bad but it sucks.

    @ Brogan: I would have expected better hearing ability from a "rat" ( :mad: Sorry see the pic). Re. Ax5 I have to admit that I never heard it but do not want to try, really. So have to live with the Denon. (no fan, thank you)
     
  13. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    So you advised against buying an AX5 due to the fan noise without actually having any experience of how loud it is?

    BTW, it's a hamster....Hammy the hamster to be precise :D
     
  14. Billilu

    Billilu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's no rat, it's hamster. Are you sure it's not called Basil?

    I must have very sensitive ears, as I've never noticed any noise from the media box, which I keep in a vertical position behind the screen. Mind you, I got it swapped at last today, so maybe I'll start noticing it from now on.
     
  15. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Nope, no fan noise from mine either (504HDE). Or at least never hear it - and believe me I am sensitive to this stuff, as you will know if you've followed my projector exploits :)
     
  16. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you guys tell me if the fan in your media boxes is always on ? (I read that the boxes in USA are different with fans only running from time to time)

    Mine is always running and believe me I hear it :suicide:
     
  17. Ultra2man

    Ultra2man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +129
    My fan is always on. at power on the fan momentarily swithes on at a low speed then fires up at full speed. It is very noisy as I can hear it quite clearly sitting about 11 feet away.
    Pioneer are coming round to replace it soon so I will see if a new media reciever is any better. Just hope I don't loose all my pic settings but I think its the display that holds those and not the media box. Maybe someone can correct me if i'm wrong.
     
  18. Billilu

    Billilu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can. You're wrong. I had to do all mine again today once the new media box was installed. I'd suggest writing them all down before it's too late.
     
  19. Rollin

    Rollin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fan on mine is almost silent ,even very close.
     
  20. emad

    emad
    Banned for trading fraud

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, diferrent views here suggest that we all have different tolerance to fan noise, so for anyone with sensitive hearing -like myself- it would be best putting the media box away from you (at least 15 feet). I believe this will not affect your viewing as the screen itself has the IR sensor and not the box.

    Emad
     
  21. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0
    When i got my mediabox replaced i noticed that the fan nise is much lower.
    However (i'v enot figured it out completley yet) it seams like the fan speeds up after a specific on-time, about 3 hours....
    I've put some filter material(kind of the one you use for fans in a computer) at the back of the mediabox to minimize the noise and it works great...

    Regarding sensitivit for noise, for me the screen buzzing is more irritating and i'm awaiting a replacement screen for that.

    And regarding the AX5 noise... I've NEVER heard it, i don't even thing the fan is on by default, perhaps if yo have it on for a long time it will be on.. Or it could be that it's virtually silent...
    Even if you try you Cannot hear the noise even if you listen very close to the fan.. And as i said i'm very sensitive for noise.
     
  22. mikemccon

    mikemccon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totally agree with WIPED regarding the AX5i fan.

    The fan in my unit is not permanently on and is probably temperature activated. I imagine it only switches on when the built-in heatsinks are failing to dissipate the heat sufficiently.

    Think I'll get this confirmed by Pioneer though as I'm now a touch paranoid that the fan may be faulty !!!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...