• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

HDMI Mark Grant longer length = Quality Diff?

kultschar

Established Member
I am new to this Home Theatre game however will shortly require my cables to be installed from wall mounted LCD to corner of room.

Now im not 100% sure how much HDMI cable I will need (my internal walls aint up yet) - I would say maybe 10m but of course do not want to fall short! Due to HDMI prices and the fact I want the best 1080P poss I do not want any degradation in signal!! After reading reviews etc I think I am going to pull the trigger on Mark Grants cables as they seem to have exceptional build quality however I see he offers 10m, 12m and 15m

My dilemma is should I go for the longest or will I be sacrificing audio/visual quality of some kind? I read about Cat 1 and 2 etc and it can all get a little confusing!

Any tips or advice would be appreciated!

PS - is it also best to keep one HDMI cable direct from LCD thru wall and direct to Reciever i.e. avoid face plates and other HDMI cables inbetween the two sources. What do you guys do??

MarkTaylor

Prominent Member
I'm sure Mark Grant will be along to answer for himself before long, but in brief, avoid going any longer than you need, if you can, just to improve the chances in the future that the same cable will work happily at higher resolutions/bit-rates than you use now and to give you more head-room above the minimum signal quality needed to work correctly.

Don't worry too much about gradual signal degradation as that tends not to be the case with HDMI, if it isn't working the nature of the errors are such that they will be visually obvious like sparkles or picture drop out, not subtle changes in colour or detail.