1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI/HDCP HIDEF Ready.....?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by ancient, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. ancient

    ancient
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi ...

    Could someone please confirm...

    If a set has a Hdmi socket,does this mean it is automatically HDCP as well...?

    Or does the HDCP only refer to Dvi sockets....?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    All hdmi sockets are hdcp as standard, hdmi is also audio & video.

    dvi can be with or without hdcp and is video only.
     
  3. Pezerinno

    Pezerinno
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +70
    Just remeber for sky hi-def is needs to handle 720p @ 50Hz and 1080i @ 50Hz.
     
  4. ancient

    ancient
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys....Another question...if I'm using Dvi with hdcp...which will only give me Video...how would I recieve the audio...?
    Sorry for the newbie question.

    Cheers.
     
  5. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    phono leads to the display, urgh :thumbsdow

    optical cable to a nice 5.1 (or above) amp :thumbsup:
     
  6. rundmc51

    rundmc51
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the philips 32 9986 support hdcp via dvi socket??
     
  7. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
  8. joker_zero

    joker_zero
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Umm, I work on the assumption that you are correct, but it is a very important distinction, so I went and had a look at www.hdmi.org and a few other sites.

    I cant find anything that says that a device with a HDMI socket is a guarantee of HDCP compliance. Certainly HDMI can support a HDCP connection (as can DVI), but the only difference I can find listed is the support for Audio.

    Can you enlighten me - as stated I am sure you are right but it would be good to know where this assurance comes from - even if it means I've missed something obvious on the website.

    Thanks

    JZ
     
  9. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    HDCP is what you need, but as some Panny plasma users have found; not all implementations are FULL implementations. Before I bought my Sharp 37GA4E I got written confirmation from Sharp.
     
  10. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I don't think that you will find a single HDMI chipset that does not support HDCP.
     
  11. BlueDonkey

    BlueDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The initial HDMI devices didn't support HDCP. It required an another chip. Altough, in reality, I don't know of any HDMI devices that don't support HDCP. It doesn't mean they don't exist though. :rolleyes:
     
  12. ancient

    ancient
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Mick I thought as much...ref audio qustion.
     
  13. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    So it is not mandatory for displays and for sources, depending on the interpretation, it may be mandatory for the source to protect AV data.

    IMO, it would be suicidal for a manufacturer to ignore this recommendation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...