HDMI graphix card

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by jaxouk, Feb 7, 2009.

1. jaxouk

jaxouk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI all, newbie here

This is my first post and i looking some advice on a graphics card hdmi setup. I have an asrock conroe dvi945 board in my pc, it has an onboard dvi card. I bought a dvi-hdmi adaptor and connected it into my plasma but cant find the right resolution. There isn`t many resolutions to choose from but i cant find one to fit the screen. it either displaying a 37" picture on a 42" screen or the next setting is loosing the taskbar at the bottom.
    Does anyone have any advice on this as to what i can do. I`m asuming its just a poor video card and was thinking a new one would sort this.?? It works perfectly through the d-sub cable (well it fits the screen) but i have ordered a blu-ray drive and would like the proper hdmi connection. Can anyone recommend a half decent reasonably priced card that would sort it out,...or is it something else that i`m missing? The tv is a panasonic 42" px

Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  2. jaxouk

jaxouk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. jaxouk

jaxouk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump

4. Stephen Neal

Stephen Neal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +920
    What graphics card do you currently have? Have you got the latest drivers and control software for it?

Might be worth checking before spending money.

Also - have you seen if you are feeding your display at its native resolution? (Normally 1280x720, 1366x768, 1920x1080 for LCDs and sometimes 1024x720 and 1024x768 as well for Plasmas - though the latter are non-square modes so may appear stretched)

Does your display let you configure your input for a PC ?