HDMI for 20mm conduit ????

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Ricky22buk, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. Ricky22buk

    Ricky22buk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    As the title states guys, is it possible to buy good high end quality HDMI cable which will fit down 20mm conduit ? Just measured my HDMI lead which came with my Sky HD box and it reads 19.8mm, so it therefore wont go down 20mm conduit. All my house is wired in 200mm and it would certainly save me alot of time and hassle if I could buy cables to suit. Any suggestions ???


    Cheers !
     
  2. Ricky22buk

    Ricky22buk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Surely someone else has had this problem !!!!


    Anyone ????????????
     
  3. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    1. Go to the shop and see if they have cables with smaller connectors (different manufacturers might use smaller moldings).
    2. See if a HDMI to HDMI-Mini connector cable can be used, together with an adapter from HDMI-Mini back to HDMI.
    3. Buy connectors and cable for a DIY job.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,933
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,575
    Hello Ricky22b

    I've looked at about a dozen connectors we have here and they are all 20mm or 20mm+.

    One option is to use CAT5 cable (x2) plus a set of HDMI over CAT5 extenders - see http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=3872

    Keep in mind the metal pin out shroud on an HDMI plug is 18mm wide - which doesn't leave much room for the body and shield if your looking to find something that's sub 20mm.

    Is the conduit a straight run or with bends?

    Joe
     
  5. jonny round boy

    jonny round boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +12
    Surely it's a bad idea to run the HDMI cables through the existing conduit with the power cables? Just run them seperately, it'll be a lot easier that trying to feed them through existing.
     
  6. frank-e-boy

    frank-e-boy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    put in bigger conduit? 20mm isnt the only size. get some 25mm or 32mm stuff. I have also seen someone put 40mm wastepipe in the wall. It was on a post in the DIY section I think. Looked like it would do the job easily, involves quite a bit of chasing though.
     
  7. Alun

    Alun
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Praying to the God of Wind
    Ratings:
    +243

    LOL

    I'd be next door if I chased that deep.
     
  8. Ricky22buk

    Ricky22buk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Really wanted something that would involve as little hassle as possible. All the rooms are decorated and all the conduits and plugs are left up the wall for plasma's. I know I can retrack, plaster and redecorate but I just didnt want to, that why I asked this question ! The Cat 5 idea Joe is a good one but seems to be an expensive route as I intend to have 3 plasma's around the house. Thanks for that advice though Joe but it seems as I may have to get the hands dirty again and just replace the conduit.

    Joe on another note please dont forget to get back to me with prices on the items I sent you. I'm not in a panic as I'm sure your head is turned for Christmas, but just asking for a return email when you get some free time. Thanks in advance for all advice given and taking the time to reply to my emails.

    Best wishes to you all for both Christmas and the New Year !!!!1
     
  9. jonny round boy

    jonny round boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes, that was me!

    If it's in a masonry wall (as mine was) I'd really only recommend that for short runs, but if you were building a new stud wall it'd be really easy to integrate it.

    And yes, it did need quite a bit of chasing, but with an SDS chisel it only took about 20 mins (plus about 2 days to clear up the mess..:( ).
     

Share This Page

Loading...