HDMI connector for 8K cable

cesius

Novice Member
Hi,

I need to pass an 8K HDMI cable through the wall and then crimp the connectors. Do I need to find 8K connectors or the HDMI version only affects the cable? If so, could you please recommend me any website where I can buy them?

Thanks in advance.

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
What is an ‘8K’ cable?

Any break in your cable run is a potential fail point - I would avoid any break in the cable run.

Joe

cesius

Novice Member
I meant an HDMI 2.1 cable. I know it‘s better to use the cable straight from factory but it has to go through the wall and it does not fit in the pipe. That’s why I have to pass the cable and then crimp the connectors.

John7

Have you SEEN the smallness and number of wires in an HDMI connector? I can’t imagine there are crimps that small! Even soldering one up is not something I would attempt and I’ve been a hobbyist in electronics for over 40 years!

HDMI connections are very sensitive. If you want no connectivity issues, I would advise to make the hole bigger and use a liner pipe that can handle the cable with it’s unadulterated original connector attached.

Otto Pylot

I meant an HDMI 2.1 cable. I know it‘s better to use the cable straight from factory but it has to go through the wall and it does not fit in the pipe. That’s why I have to pass the cable and then crimp the connectors.
For the most reliable connection, you should run a new, ATC certified UHS HDMI cable, even if that means widening the hole and installing a conduit for future pulls/upgrades if at all possible.