HDMI Connections

bluesa1

I am setting up my Hikvision NVR and camera and, I find that I need an HDMI splitter so that I can channel my pc and the NVR through the same monitor. I looked on-line and have spotted them priced between £8 and £12. I then thought that a speedy answer would be to use my local TV/Electrical shop but they want £25 for one. Not being an expert, my question is, are there splitters and splitters then, i.e does the quality differ that much?

There is an alternative, my monitor has a vacant analogue connector which I could use but I am wondering if there would be any loss of picture quality.

Any thoughts anyone please?

Many thanks.

mushii

An hdmi splitter normally takes 1 hdmi input and splits it into 2 outputs. What I think you need is an HDMI Switch, 2 x Input, 1 x Output. is your PC outputting 4k or 1080p? Is your NVR a 4k or 1080P NVR ? As that will determine what kind of switch you may wish to use. Either a 1080P or 4k switch

Whichever way £8 or £12 (even for a 1080p switch) is very cheap, it may be hit and miss whether it works well or not at all. The HDMI signal path is not just a straight electrical connection from AB, when 2 HDMI devices connect here is some complex handshaking that goes on in the back ground to check for things like digital copy protection, and for one device to tell the other what resolution etc it is capable of operating at. Cheap splitters / switches do not always allow this handshaking to occur properly and can result in glitchy connections or no connections at all. Further, different AV equipment requires different bandwidths of connection, depending on what resolution and frame rate is required depends on what rate the data is transmitted at. Not all Switches / Splitters are capable of handling some of the higher data rates (normally the cheaper ones) which will result in either reduced image quality or no image at all. I have tried to keep this explanation as simple as possible.

Last edited:

bluesa1