1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI connection problems with PV500

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Roohster, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,450
    Ive got my Arcam DV79 hooked up to my Panny PV500 with an HDMI lead (good quality,QED I think)... and every so often the picture disappears to be replaced by "snow" (just loads of black & white pixels). This is usually cured by switching off the tv and then on again... or by doing the same with the dvd player.
    Is this something to do with the HDCP thingy? I dont get the problem using my projector connected by HDMI.
     
  2. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,450
    anyone?
     
  3. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    no idea m8, havent tried HDMI yet.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,592
    rhooster2

    What length of HDMI cable are you using?

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,450
    2 metre
     
  6. Lionheart

    Lionheart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a fault somewhere then roohster...I use a 3m HDMI lead (made by Cambridge audio) connected from my Panasonic S97 to my 42pv500 and I never had any problems with it. Check the obvious such as a loose connection and then try a different HDMI lead if possible (ie did you get a free one with your dvd player) before checking it isnt the dvd player itself (does it happen with other connections from the player or can you get hold of another HDMI player to see if it still happens).....good luck
     
  7. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    It could be the HDMI port/board on the plasma
     
  8. garysevern

    garysevern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SHEFFIELD UK
    Ratings:
    +12
    My Wireworld 7 meter cable works great although I did have to make sure the the Plasma connection was firmly engaged else I got no picture.
     
  9. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,450
    Just been on the phone to Panasonic, and they're going to get it looked at for me... but they're taking away me telly for two weeks! :mad:
     
  10. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    Sounds like the cable, you said you think it's a QED ? Make sure, if not try another one and it could save you the hassle of sending your screen away.
     
  11. crank

    crank
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you've got to try everything first roohster before you let them take the tv away cos 2 week could easily become 4 week and so on.Get another cable and check the connections if you have'nt got one buy a cheap one just to check....surely you must know someone else with a dvd player with HDMI to check its not the dvd player aswell.Try and whittle it down before you let them take the set first mate.... :thumbsup:
     
  12. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,450
    Youre right guys, Im reluctant to let em take it away... so... I did some experimentation last night with various different cables... and a slightly shorter one seemed to do the trick!

    Obviously I'll give it a few days before deciding that "everything is ok".
     

Share This Page

Loading...