HDMI Cables - 1080p

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by trlee2011, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. trlee2011

    trlee2011
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    Apologies if this advice has been given elsewhere but I was hoping somebody might be able to clarify a quick query...

    I am in the process of mounting my LCD on the wall and will be running cables through the wall. Although I do not subscribe to HD at present i might well do in the near future and thought it might be worth purchasing an HDMI cable (would need to be 5m) and running through the wall at the same time as normal scarts/aerial etc. Does quality of cable make a difference up to 5m, and also should I be looking to future-proof with 1080p? I have seen cables of varying prices but was obviously hoping to go as cheap as possible (without losing quality).

    Any advice is much appreciated,

    Cheers
     
  2. jrwagh333

    jrwagh333
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi there,

    im no expert but from the information ive gather over the months i belive all HDMI cables are 1080p

    also ive heard that the quality isnt effected unless the cable is >100m

    i may be wrong but thats what i have learned.
     
  3. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,686
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +1,067
    With HDMI cables, quality starts to become an issue somewhere between 5m and 10m, depending on the signal. The cheapest of cheap cables is 100% perfect at 5m or less.
     
  4. trlee2011

    trlee2011
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers - much appreciated!
     
  5. Peter Galbavy

    Peter Galbavy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was bitten by this recently. I replaced my TV, all my HDMI connections go via a Denon 4306. One source (an HD MB200 mediabox) was juddering and corrupted sometimes - replaced the HDMI cable from box to amp and all was fine. Not a problem with the other TV beforehand...
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,519
  7. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Better still if you have an AV amp that does video switching, then you'd only have to have one HDMI cable thru the wall, plus the power lead. Rememember to put the power lead in a separate trunking thing than the other cables though, it interferes with them.
    I understood that one of the best HDMI cables was the QED P range. A 5m one of those is about £64.

    Can anyone advise how long bettercables take to deliver to the UK? Ta.
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,519

Share This Page

Loading...