HDMI Cable

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kenko, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Guys

    I have just bought a Toshiba HD-E1 DVD player which should get delivered next week for £255.

    However, I will need to buy a HDMI cable to go from the HD player to my HD-TV.

    Can anyone recommend a decent cable at a cheap price?

    Also would I use an optical cable for the sound?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. royster

    royster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You get a hdmi lead in the box with the unit. If you want digital sound you will need a digital audio lead (Toslink type). Hope this helps you.
     
  3. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Do you reckon the cable will be ok then? Dont really want to spend money if I dont have to.:)

    Where's the best place to get a digital audio cable from?

    Bit new to all this.
     
  4. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    My amp is a

    Sony STR-DB930

    so not sure if it does digital sound:confused:
     
  5. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,898
    Digitial is Digital mate, over a short distance a £5 cable should perform just as well as a £30 cable.
     
  6. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064

    I'm pretty certain this amp has optical/TOS link inputs. You can find these for ~ £10 for a 1m cable. The HDMI cable supplied with the Tosh is fine. You will notice no difference in PQ with a more expensive cable on shorter runs unless there is damage to the connectors or cable itself.

    AVI
     
  7. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys thats a great help.

    So i need a digital optical cable now then. Hopefully no more than a tenner or something.:)
     
  8. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have an optical cable at the mo, but dont think its digital.

    I'll have a look.:)
     
  9. Henryslater

    Henryslater
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Oh, i'll bet you it is......;)
     
  10. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Optical is digital then yeah?

    All optical cables are digital?:confused: :suicide:

    ISave my self £10.
     
  11. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,898
    Yes all optical cables support digital.

    By the way you can get a 2m Optical cable for £3.99 so dont go spending £10 lol
     
  12. kenko

    kenko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys:D
     
  13. TrevorS

    TrevorS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +175
    As long as the length of the included HDMI cable is adequate, it will be fine -- no need to replace it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...