HDMi cable for PS3

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by theshabster, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
  2. TylerDurden

    TylerDurden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +622
    Bit pricey, will do the job
     
  3. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    Price isn't an issue fella.

    Or do I need a specialist HDMi cable ?
     
  4. Axum

    Axum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +805
    Some people believe a good quality HDMI lead makes a difference, some people don't, you'll never get a definitive answer! I went for a good quality one purely for peace of mind..
     
  5. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    I've heard that some people are using a cable that has a switch on it for 'full' & something else - are these needed ? :confused:
     
  6. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +635
    There are no switches on the cables. Buy anything that you like, it will work. Those Maplins ones are expensive, they look good.
     
  7. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    Worth the money over VGA/AV input - i.e. Will I notice a difference ?
     
  8. fid

    fid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +37
    why not just get one for £6 from ebay?

    don't understand why you would want to pay so much - it's digital the quality will be exactly the same however much you pay!! :suicide:
     
  9. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +635
  10. Gawfie

    Gawfie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I just had a cheap ebay one delivered, seems to do the job perfectly well and only came to £4.
     
  11. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    It's not me who's paying for it guys :smashin:


    Pincho - damn ! I wanted either a 1.5 or 2m cable, & they're sold out :thumbsdow
     
  12. pavr27

    pavr27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +30

    I would challenge anybody to demonstarte any noticeable difference in picture quality using a lead costing £5 and one costing £50.

    A HDMI lead is a HDMI lead - that's it...as long as it fits the HDMI socket, it will do the job (as long as it doesn't fall aprat)

    I have never payed more than £10 for a cable, and have a perfectly good picture.

    With a digital signal, you either get an image or you don't.
     
  13. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    Pavr - so you're telling me that there's no advantages over using a gold plated HDMi, to a non-gold plated HDMi ??? Hmmmmmmm - I think there are !
     
  14. 6950rpm

    6950rpm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I saw some gold plated optical cables last week in Maplins which made me laugh.
     
  15. pavr27

    pavr27
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +30
    Ok, admittedly all my cables are gold plated.....but i would still challenge anybody to see any difference on their home cinemas system with gold plates versus non-gold. Anyway, gold plated cables can be picked up for a few pounds.

    I suppose after time a non-plated cable may oxidise....but I still don't think paying more than £5 for a cable is necessary!

    I would be very interested to be shown proof to dispel my opinion!
     
  16. thelawns

    thelawns
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +146
    Whilst i'm sure most people aren't bothered about the colour of the cable, I just thought i'd share the fact that Sony do some White HDMI cables.

    I have just ordered a 2m one from here:

    HDMI Cable

    :hiya:
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  17. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +635
    Well, get the Express.. looks nicer. I actually have those.
     
  18. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
  19. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +635
  20. jonspurs

    jonspurs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +44
    I've a £5 HDMI 2 metre cable connected to my 42" plasma and PQ is fine...no artefacts or anything...from Lidl.
     
  21. Jonstone

    Jonstone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Prestatyn
    Ratings:
    +545
    The newest spec, 1.3a means just over 10Gbps of bandwidth. Standard 480p requires less than 1Gbps, the current 8-bit 1080p requires 4.46 Gbps, but the next gen 1080p formats will require nearly 15Gbps.

    Have you seen the specs on the graph that require 15GBps?

    1080p at 12 bit colour depth at 120 fps

    We won't see specs like that required for 10 years, even then I don't see what we would need 120 fps anyway
     
  22. TylerDurden

    TylerDurden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +622
    I use the same Lidl cable for my PS3
     
  23. Snatch

    Snatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +104
    Yeah don't be fooled into spending loads on a cable..As mentioned earlier, its a digital signal thats passed through so either it works or it doesn't! The only time you would notice any degradation in quality is if you are using very long cables 10-15m +..In your case, a simple £3 - £5 cable is the same as a £50 cable..People who have splashed out on expensive cables will i'm sure tell you otherwise...
    The whole gold plated aspect comes into play when talking about scart leads etc..Then i guess you could go to town!

    If your still undecided, buy an expensive and cheap hdmi cable and test for yourself. Then take back the one you want to. I'm sure that'll be the expensive one and buy yourself a game with the savings :thumbsup:
     
  24. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    This cable from Lidl - was it on special offer ? Is it gold plated?
     
  25. Jay

    Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    on the battlefield....
    Ratings:
    +2,081
    Just to let you know that I wouldn't worry about thinking too much about which hdmi cable to buy.
    With digital signals the cables have less of an effect on video quality than they do with analog signals.
    They can still be subject to interference and poor-quality connectors are always an issue, but there's no need to blow a fortune on a cable.
    The only real exceptions are when your need a cable that runs more than a few metres, in this case spending more is worthwhile, but if it's simply to connect the ps3 (under the tv) then any cheap hdmi cable will do the job. :smashin:
     
  26. Jonstone

    Jonstone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Prestatyn
    Ratings:
    +545
    I have two 10m cables which were £12 each delivered from a store on ebay and they work perfectly so even at longer lengths you don't necessarily have to pay a lot
     
  27. Jay

    Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    on the battlefield....
    Ratings:
    +2,081
    You're right you don't, but it's only at longer lengths that you would really start to notice image degredation (sparklies) from very low quality cables.
     
  28. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Whether it's gold plated or not doesn't really matter and won't make one bit of difference. Too many people seem to be taken in by the marketing mumbo jumbo regards gold plating. It's only real benefit is to reduce/prevent corrosion which shouldn't be a problem anyway.
     
  29. theshabster

    theshabster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +471
    Will the Eco do the job, or would you pay double the price for the express?

    What's postage like with that company?
     
  30. Snatch

    Snatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +104
    How much is the eco cable?
     

Share This Page

Loading...