Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

HDMI - Are DVD players available?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mike246, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. Mike246

    Mike246
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mine's a simple question.

    Just bought a Toshiba LCD television with HDMI input. Are there any DVD players (or recorders) on the UK market which can provide a feed?

    Second question - are there any DVDs which provide the material?
     
  2. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    All DVD's provide the material , HDMI is just a digital means of connecting items.

    There are a few players around (& more emerging) with this connection.
    Arcam DV79 & DV29 , Denon 2910 & 3910 , Pioneer 868 to name a few.
     
  3. viewer

    viewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    IF you have a HDMI DVD and TV do you also need a HDMI receiver to take advantage of these
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,431
    No you don't simply because there are currently no HDMI receivers/processors available that can accept multi channel audio via HDMI, and only a very few DVD players can output multi channel audio via HDMI. The only player I know of that can is the Arcam DV29.

    HDMI from DVD to LCD will carry digital video and stereo sound, so only the single HDMI cable is required between them.

    Mark.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  6. viewer

    viewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know if the SAXR70 includes video switching
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,431
    Following the link supplied by HD it shows that the SAXR70 has video inputs & outputs, so therefore 'Yes it does do video switching'.

    Mark.
     
  8. viewer

    viewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Presumably then HTMI would go from DVD direct to receiver then direct to HDMI connection on TV (if equiped). I also asssume you could connect sky+ box direct to receiver as well and control all switching through the receiver or am I talkin bolloxs. Anyone seen any reviews of it.
     
  9. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,431
    I'm not too sure if the receiver does video upconversion.
    If it does then you may well be able to connect Sky via the receiver and on to the screen via HDMI, but I doubt it as it is unlikely IMHO to convert analogue video to digital to go via HDMI. If not then you would be better off going direct and save on a couple of extra cables that would be required.
    As long as both the DVD & receiver can carry multi channel audio via HDMI then you would be best to go via the receiver as you would not need additional analogue audio cables.

    Mark.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    not seen a X70 yet but suggest HDMI in1 out1 so DVD S97 to X70 HDMI and then SKY via (whatever cable system is suitable) to amp and possibly AMP to screen via analogue connection as well.
    INPUT/OUTPUT

    HDMI Inputs/Outputs
    1-in, 1-out

    Component Video Inputs/Outputs
    2-in, 1-out

    S-Video Inputs/Outputs
    4-in, 1-out

    Video Inputs/Outputs
    4-in, 2-out

    Suggest that there is no video conversion or upscaling merely switching.... But what do you expect from Budget panny kit? I reckon a DEnon or Arcam Combo running Component would probably match if not deystroy this for Quality, but you are talking alot more money....
     
  11. viewer

    viewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I was considering Denon 2910 DVD and Denon AVR 2805 receiver doesn't have HDMI but DVD does, presume this would be better quality
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    can run HDMI to screen or PJ and use optical/coax digital audio for sound to amp. HDMI (DVi) switchers are available if you needed top switch multiple HDMI sources...
     
  13. viewer

    viewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have been looking at Sharp lc32GD1E with denon 2910 and denon 2805 and sky + haven't looked at speakers yet. Would this be a reasonable setup
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice