Question HDMI and Sony potential compatibility issues

PeerF

Novice Member
I know I am a novice but really don't understand following HDMI issue, and I hope some can guide me.
Sorry for the long mail.

I have following setup, all running latest SW and connected with highspeed HDMI cables.
Sources/Input:
A) AppleTV 4K;
B) IPtv MAG420;
C) LG Blueray FullHD DVD

All connected to AV Controller:
D) Sony STR-DN1080 (double HDMI output)

TVs/Output:
E) Samsung Q85R HDMI connected
F) Edision HDMI Modulator with coax connected TVs in the house

Here is what works:
- Apple, MAG420, DVD through Sony to Samsung.
- DVD through Sony and simultaneously to Samsung(HDMI) and Edision(F) and the connected TVs

Here is what doesn’t work:
- Apple or MAG420 through Sony to Edision(F) and the connected TVs. The Edision Signal indicator is ON but the TVs all are black after startup finished.

Her are some tests I have been running:
  • One at the time connected Apple or MAG420 or DVD directly to Edision(F) is working fine.(Bypass Sony).
  • Tested all HDMI highspeed cables without any issues.
  • If I connect the Edision to Sony’s HDMI ERC port I get an error on the Edison connected TVs: ‘The content cannot be displayed. To display, please connect with the HDMI input which supports HDCP 2.2 on the TV.’ I think the error comes from Edision. Changing the devices Apple and MAG420 to display-output to 1080 make no change.
I know I am an novice in this area but I am simply not understanding it should be an issue with all new devices from 2019 and 2020. I can only think it is a compatibility issue with the Sony, but really don’t know.

I would appreciate if any could give me an advice.

dante01

Distinguished Member
The modulator isn't HDCP 2.2 compliant and neither can it handle UHD video. The ATV and your IPtv MAG420 are both 4K UHD devices that would require HDCP 2.2 compliance. You'd also not be able to use the modulator in association with video signals that exceed its own capabilities.