1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hdmi And Dvi

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Pidsley, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. Pidsley

    Pidsley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    WHats the difference,. My Samsum DVD-R125 needs connecting to ym Panny Ae700 PJ, both have HDMI, is that all i need to connect two?

    The Samsung arrived with and HDMI - DVI splitter (converter) whats that for?
     
  2. cooperda

    cooperda
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +84
    For people like me whos TV - a Philips LCD has a DVI input rather than HDMI.

    The picture is just as good but sound has to be carried seperately.

    Cheers, Dave C.
     
  3. Pidsley

    Pidsley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mate. So if I'm just connecting to PJ then a DVI or HDMI converter cable would suffice as I am playing sound through amp anyway.

    Is DVI cable cheaper than HDMI I wonder?

    Thanks again.
     
  4. cooperda

    cooperda
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +84
    Can't you just use the HDMI to HDMI cable supplied and 'ignore' the sound - ie. still connect the Samsung to the Amp via Digital Audio?

    Also with my Philips there is a SPDIF output - to connect to an AMP

    As to prices I think they are about the same - not cheap - 40 to 70 UKPs for a short cable.

    When I bought the Samsung it was the 'free' cables that made it a good value buy.

    Cheers, DAve C.
     
  5. Pidsley

    Pidsley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep I am now getting up to speed with this one.

    I will be using an HDMI to HDMI however I need about 10m (£100) ouch) to connect to my PJ. The one supllied with the Samsung is only a short one.

    I was going to connect my TV via a scart. However a small note in the Samsung manual suggests that when an HDMI cable is connected all other video output is stopped? Does this mean I cannot have th PJ and TV connected at the same time?
     
  6. cooperda

    cooperda
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +84
    I think that's correct - the Scart output - according to the manual - is blocked when the HDMI cable is connected.

    There are very expensive - 250 UKPs - switch boxes for HDMI or DVI but the only one's I've seen are with two inputs going to one (TV) ouput.

    Good luck sorting it out, Dave C.
     
  7. pugsterman

    pugsterman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Cooperda,
    I notice you have the same screen as me and I'm also tempted by the R125.
    A couple of questions from a newbie.
    1) When using HDMI (with DVI in our case) do you have to worry if the DVD has progressive scan? Or is this automatically initiated when using the HDMI connection?
    2) When upscaling takes place, is this automatic? Or manual on the TV DVD?
    3) Is the HDMI connection Bi-Directional? I notice the post above, when using HDMI scart is disabled. So how does recording work back from the freeview in the TV?
    4) When using Coaxial digi or Optical is the 5.1 sorted out automatically between the DVD and the surround receiver (decoder) as it would seem since I bought my 5.1 a number of years ago, DVD players are no longer labelled 5.1 decorder.

    Im sure I have more questions, but, at the min just trying not to make a mistake on the DVD recorder matching the TV.

    Cheers

    Mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...