HDMI 2.0 vs 2.0b

Discussion in 'OLED TVs Forum' started by LEE 345, Apr 19, 2018.


    1. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      I've just received 3 HDMI cables from Amazon. The cables I ordered stated they were V2.0b however the one's delivered are
      V2.0 . I've read a few articles on this issue
      And some say it makes no difference whilst others say V2.0a and V2.0b are upgrades and needed/best for HDR and the BBC's new HDR format .my TV is an lgb6 . Help should I send the cables back or do I not need to?
       
    2. chief barker

      chief barker
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 26, 2005
      Messages:
      1,853
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Ratings:
      +767
      Just try them, either they will work or they won't.
       
    3. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      The only time my TV lets me know the format its displaying is on Netflix (Dolby vision) or playstation 4 ( HDR) . I'll give it a try like you suggest but was hoping to remove any doubt over the "best" cable for my TV lgb6 thanks for reply
       
    4. dollag

      dollag
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 30, 2015
      Messages:
      1,556
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent
      Ratings:
      +673
      There is no such thing as a hdmi 2.0 cable. It’s a standard.

      Any high speed cable will be 2.0b compatible
       
    5. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Thanks , so there's no difference in 2.0 . 2.0a and 2.0b sorry if that sounds daft but I haven't a clue ,only know not to pay silly price's for one
       
    6. dollag

      dollag
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 30, 2015
      Messages:
      1,556
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent
      Ratings:
      +673
      Don’t be sorry it’s all about learning.

      The hdmi standard (2.0, a,b etc) is for the actual device not the cable. There are differences but the cable itself does not have a certified hdmi standard apart from its speeds. All high speed cables that can carry 18gbps will be able to connect hdmi 2.0b devices no problem

      The new hdmi 2.1 standard will need a new cable as it’s bandwidth exceeds what the existing cables can manage
       
    7. drdocmatt

      drdocmatt
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2016
      Messages:
      815
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      GB
      Ratings:
      +283
      The standards define the limits of insertion loss and noise rejection for the cable, as well as the actual version of protocol that devices are allowed to negotiate.

      An old cable highly likely won't be able to carry the same bandwidth without unacceptable signal/noise ratios causing loss of signal, but a cable doesn't directly impact the negotiation of protocol.
       
    8. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Thanks again . The cables I've got are 18gps so i feel ok about keeping them . On another note I feel like I'd get a lot of answers about all these things if my expensive lgb6 came with a manual. Thats a big negative point for me, I know you can get it online ,
      but not the same as having book with index
       
    9. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Drdocmatt I'm not tech savvy mate thanks for your reply but that was as clear as mud to me
       
    10. drdocmatt

      drdocmatt
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2016
      Messages:
      815
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      GB
      Ratings:
      +283
      Cables do vary in quality. HDMI bandwidths are now *so high* that it's no longer really true that it "either works or it doesn't". Plus, cables from unknown manufacturers rarely meet their stated standards, so I would still try another one. One you can send back if it makes no difference...
       
    11. drdocmatt

      drdocmatt
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2016
      Messages:
      815
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      GB
      Ratings:
      +283
      Well, my point was some cables are motorways where you can go as fast as you like, but even there you don't *have* to drive at 70 on them you could go slower (I.e. high quality cable connecting older devices together)... some cables are back streets where you can't choose to drive at 70 because you'll die so you have to drive more slowly (crap cables with modern high speed devices)... and some are A roads where you might get away with it, you might not, it all depends on the exact road and the exact car you're driving...

      Lol, clearer? :)
       
    12. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Brilliant that . So say I was driving an lgb6
      Down a virgin media V6 100mbps
      super highway . what would be the best cable for the smoothest ride ?:)
       
    13. fat jez

      fat jez
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 6, 2007
      Messages:
      3,546
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +815
      That’s like mixing a railway line with a motorway [emoji846]
       
    14. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Just signed up for another year :( get good fibre speed which I do get 90 to 100 Mbps.
      Does ok for PS4 pro and netflix . Thought I may get 4k hdr through better cable from virgin box to TV . Don't think I'm getting best from tv except via netflix and PS4 . thanks for getting back appreciate it :thumbsup:
       
    15. fat jez

      fat jez
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 6, 2007
      Messages:
      3,546
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +815
      Depends on what both TV and Virgin box support. Your TV should be fine, but I have no idea if Virgin support any form of HDR. Sky don’t (yet) for example.
       
    16. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      TV lgb6 supports 4k hdr and Dolby vision not sure on virgin V6 box although it is supposed to be the latest one (had it 1 year) I'll have a look into it some more cheers .
       
    17. andy1249

      andy1249
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 7, 2006
      Messages:
      8,367
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +2,488
      Hello Lee.
      HDMI.org is the official place for all things HDMI.

      Read this...
      https://www.hdmi.org/pdf/atlug_faqs/2011_04_26_ATLUG_Q07_FINAL.pdf

      Basically,
      HDMI version numbers do not apply to cables, they never have.

      Anyone using those numbers in relation to cables is attempting a fraud i.e. this cable is better because etc.

      Shop for the logos shown.
      The only honest thing that is to be said about a HDMI cable is whether it is standard speed, high speed , or premium.

      You need high speed or premium.
      Anything else a seller might say about a cable is lies.
      In the world of AV and audio cable sellers , almost everyone is a liar. ( e.g. persistent use of HDMI version numbers to sell cables when this practice has been banned since 2011)

      With a HDMI cable, once you have one test it with the highest bandwidth signal you have, if it works it works, subtle differences are impossible and a working cable is as good as it gets, no other cable can be better.
       
      Last edited: Apr 20, 2018
    18. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Thanks that is just the info I was after ,much appreciated.
      Just read the link you sent wow! Brilliant info
      I recommend anyone who is confused re HDMI cables to have a look. Real eye opener.
      The cables I've got don't have anything printed on them other than HDMI and primewire , going to return them for ones that have high speed on them thanks again.
       
      Last edited: Apr 20, 2018
    19. choddo

      choddo
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Feb 29, 2016
      Messages:
      1,355
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Surrey
      Ratings:
      +475
      As far as I know, Virgin don’t have any 4k content, let alone HDR.

      And the TV signal isn’t included in the 100Mb internet service bandwidth is it?
       
    20. drdocmatt

      drdocmatt
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2016
      Messages:
      815
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      GB
      Ratings:
      +283
      Correct, the TV signal runs on a different carrier from the internet signal.
       
    21. Roku2

      Roku2
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Jan 9, 2016
      Messages:
      17,239
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Miami, Fl, US
      Ratings:
      +3,479
      Agree. My older cables worked but picture looked more blocky/pixelated
       
    22. fat jez

      fat jez
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 6, 2007
      Messages:
      3,546
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +815
      What was your source? if the HDMI cable can't cope with the bandwidth you'll get drop outs on the picture or sparkles. It shouldn't make things more pixelated.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    23. Roku2

      Roku2
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Jan 9, 2016
      Messages:
      17,239
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Miami, Fl, US
      Ratings:
      +3,479
      Sparkles and drop outs were also frequent, so I had to change input for a few seconds then go back into the user input.But even when things were working, particularly in dark scenes near black, I could see heavy blocks of grey pixels and color gradation was not very smooth. I went back to some older UHD titles that I own ever since getting new cables and the difference in very noticeable. Smoother gradation and less detectable pixels.
       
    24. fat jez

      fat jez
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 6, 2007
      Messages:
      3,546
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +815
      I think you have two different issues there. A poor quality source (blocks of pixels and poor colour gradation) and a faulty cable (sparkles and drop outs).
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    25. Roku2

      Roku2
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Jan 9, 2016
      Messages:
      17,239
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Miami, Fl, US
      Ratings:
      +3,479
      Poor quality source? These are all UHD discs I am talking about, not streaming sources. HDMI cables were the only factor.
       
    26. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Thanks choddo I was replying to drdocmatt's motorway analogy and thought the
      virgin super highway bit was apt . I did think though that internet speed had a part to play in 4k streaming ,but my main concern was all the different so called types of HDMI cables.
      I wanted to get the right one's for my TV (lgb6)
       
    27. Joe Fernand

      Joe Fernand
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2002
      Messages:
      27,813
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      The Borders
      Ratings:
      +3,302
      Amazon - most of the 'specs' are complete nonsense, where the person who originally Lists the product simple throws the kitchen sink at the listing (in terms of techno babble) in order to get eyeballs on the product.

      Amazon - do not make it easy if you want to rectify a listing as unless your are the originator it can take forever to put things right.

      HDMI cables - as others have said Version numbers are irrelevant, Premium High Speed, High Speed and Standard are the current options, with Ultra High Speed on the horizon once devices sporting the New Features (set out in the HDMI 2.1 hardware revision) make an appearance.

      Your cables - plug them in and unless you see some very obvious sparkles or drop out you are good to go.

      Your cables - you don't say how long they are? Often the length of cable will make a big difference between it working and not working at higher resolutions.

      Joe
       
    28. choddo

      choddo
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Feb 29, 2016
      Messages:
      1,355
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Surrey
      Ratings:
      +475
      Not technically possible imho.
       
    29. Roku2

      Roku2
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Jan 9, 2016
      Messages:
      17,239
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Miami, Fl, US
      Ratings:
      +3,479
      For a long time, I thought that some of the artefacts I noticed with UHD discs were related to my LG Oled TV. Only when I swapped HDMI cables I noticed how picture became much cleaner and free of artefacts and pixilation issues.
       
    30. LEE 345

      LEE 345
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2018
      Messages:
      23
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +2
      Will do , and you're Spot on about Amazon,the cables I ordered (2metre) had loads of technical info in description,but nothing is written on the actual cables so having read the official HDMI link re labeling I'm now suspicious I've got what I ordered thanks
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice