Hdmi 1.3?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by flukeskywalker, Mar 15, 2006.

  1. flukeskywalker

    flukeskywalker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey All,

    Now that Sony has confirmed that the PS3 will use the new HDMI 1.3 standard, does anybody now if existing HDMI devices will be compatible? eg current HDTV's with HDMI or DVI connections?

    Maybe if not will there be connectors to pair them up somehow?

    After the fantastic news of the November UK launch (yeeeeeeesssss!!!!) I'm looking to cap my day off in the knowledge that my Samsung 32" LCD will not have been a complete waste of money.

    Any help whatsoever will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. flukeskywalker

    flukeskywalker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone have any ideas? I'm sure others also have this same problem
     
  3. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    Relax, everything will work fine.
     
  4. criggy

    criggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +81
    i know that HDMI is backward compatible.

    your tv should work fine:smashin:
     
  5. flukeskywalker

    flukeskywalker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Bonzer!

    Cheers guys, Roll on November!
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    It is backwards compatible but it is worth noting that the new audio codecs (Dolby's TrueHD and DTS-HD) will only be carried digitally in their native form over HDMI v1.3.
     
  7. cooldawn

    cooldawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    Errr, that sounds horrid. My Toshiba 32WLT58 has HDMI and occassionally asks me to upgrade, would HDMI 1.3 be included as and when or is it more hardware based.
     
  8. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    At this point it is not known whether the switch to v1.3 is a simple software upgrade or a hardware upgrade. I wouldn't worry too much though as you'll still probably get uncompressed PCM through your existing HDMI ports so you're unlikley to notice too much difference.
     
  9. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,960
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,473
    You mean there are versions of connectors? I did not know that. How to put off the consumer completely. I'm sure it will all work just fine anyway.
     
  10. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Ratings:
    +332
    Are there any Amps out there yet that support these new codecs yet? If it's anything like a THX amp - it's going to be expensive?
     
  11. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
    Im with lucas, dolby digital, despite its compression, is great.

    pez
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Christ HDMI V1.2a was only launched as a spec (nothing supports it yet) in december!
     
  13. cooldawn

    cooldawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    As far as I see it HDMI is HDMI and Sony wouldn't dare mess with a worldwide standard. Physically the HDMI should stay but my TV's software might not recognise all of it.

    Please Sony, don't mess it all up now!!
     
  14. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,577
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +598
    November in Japan maybe, but probably not till Feb/March in the UK.
     
  15. dvdric

    dvdric
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sony said a 3 region launch in november:D
     
  16. jedi-jae

    jedi-jae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    They certainly did.

    I reckon any HDMI cable will happily sit between a PS3 and an HDtv. I'll be running my sound via optical cable to my surround amp anyway, so I only need HMDI to carry the picture.
     
  17. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Ratings:
    +332
    Didn't Sony state that the PS3 will connect with a range of current HDTV's on the market? I think we'll be OK.

    As like you, I'll be connecting mine up the same way....
     
  18. markmitt

    markmitt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +27
    I assume for those without HDMI, that component will carry 720p and 1080i as well, seeing as there is multi AV out as well as the 2 HDMI sockets? (Although probably restricted to 480p for BRD playback via component)??
     
  19. jedi-jae

    jedi-jae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Actually, no.

    It is looking like blu-ray will allow full HD output via component.

    http://www.hdtvuk.tv/
     
  20. markmitt

    markmitt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +27
    Cool. But will component be able to carry a 1080p signal? I'm thinking not on this one...
     
  21. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Ratings:
    +332
  22. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    There seems to be confusion regarding the different HDMI standards. Here is what we have so far:

    V1.0 - two-channel PCM audio up to 48kHz/24-bit including standard Dolby 5.1 and DTS 5.1 bitstreams.
    V1.1 - up to 8-channel PCM audio up to 192kHz/24-bit.
    V1.2a - as V1.1, plus DSD audio (for SACD) at 1.824Gb/s.
    V1.3 - As above, plus Dolby Digital+ and DTS-HD enhanced audio.

    The actual hardware is the same as far as I'm aware, it will just depend on what version is installed in the piece of kit you've bought. For newer tv's it's most likely you have the v1.1 HDMI standard.
     
  23. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    That's the whole point, the 1.3 standard hasn't been finalised yet. As HD said, even the 1.2a standard hasn't been released into many products yet.

    The new codecs will be compatible with version 1.1 as an output PCM signal for A/V receivers.
     
  24. cooldawn

    cooldawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    Can I clarify that I should be able to use the HDMI for visuals and optical for audio? If so why would this matter as most people here have these options?
     
  25. golden phoenix

    golden phoenix
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,634
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    cheshire
    Ratings:
    +4,935
    i agree with dvdric, it makes sense...i know usually there is a staggered release date between regions, with europe always being last...but with all the delays... and with sony probably massively over budget for ps3. they would want to release asap to claw back as much money as possible in a short space of time.....plus i want to believe i will have my mits of it by xmas 2006 !!!!
     
  26. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    You could use this configuration but then you wouldn't be be taking advantage of lossless sound from the next-gen audio codecs. What I imagine will happen is that you'll have 1 HDMI cable from your display to your amp and then another cable from your amp to your Blu-Ray player.
     
  27. cooldawn

    cooldawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    Sorry, I was talking PlayStation3 :oops:

    I imagine I could have a set-up similar to my XBOX360. A direct link for the visuals and optical for sound or will I need to somehow get the sound from my Toshiba to my cinema system :confused:
     
  28. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    Well afaik the PS3 will have a digital out, so you should be able to connect it as you are currently with the 360.
     
  29. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +447
  30. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
    Id like to know more about 1.3 devices causing noise on 1.1 HDMI before i believe that article.

    It sounds like an erroneous claim to me.

    Why would the group ratify a new standard that isnt compatible with the old one?

    pez
     

Share This Page

Loading...