1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDD fragmenting

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Vic37, Apr 29, 2004.

  1. Vic37

    Vic37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've more or less decided on E85 and AVLand seems pretty good deal at 549 for MR deck and 50 DVD-Rs.
    I'm curious about one thing with all HDD video recorders:
    Do the HDDs have to be reorganised or defragmented at all? I ask because it has to be done peridically on a PC .
    Or do the HDD video recorders just rely on the fact that as the space is used by comparatively few large 'files' (programmes), compared with a PC which can have thousands of files spread around, then it more or less sorts itself out as programmes are added and removed?
    I can't find anything about a 'tidy up' process in the Panny HS2 or E100 manuals I downloaded.
     
  2. DucatiEVO

    DucatiEVO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't worry about it, it's not going to impact performance like it does on a PC. You could always format the drive now and then if you were worried.

    :)
     
  3. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    I have the Toshiba RD-XS30 and the manual recommends archiving anything you want to keep onto DVD-RAM or DVD-R and doing a a complete reformat of thr HDD every now and again. I haven't had to do this yet but I'll probably wait until it seems to become a bit sluggish.
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get a bit confused by all this talk of defragging. Surel, with the HS2 and it's ilk, you don't keep stuff on the disk for ever? So when there is nothing on the disk it is by default not fragmented.

    Dave
     
  5. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +169
    Good deal? :confused:

    Digital Point £459 MR and free P&P
    Ebuyer 50 DVR-R £24.08 including P&P

    Total £483.08
     
  6. Vic37

    Vic37
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hadn't come across Digital Point. Thanks.
     
  7. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,840
    I format my HDD on my HS2 when there is nothing on it. So far that has been just the once.
     

Share This Page

Loading...