1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hdcp????????????

Discussion in 'TVs' started by davei, Mar 6, 2005.

1. davei

davei

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

am still trying to decide between buying the panny pw6 (plasma) and the sagem axium 50" (DLP) . i've been put off the sagem 50 due to speaking to people on thbe site who tell me that this set is not hdcp enabled and thus will simply not work when sky start to broadcast hi def.

how does it stand with the plasmas on the market at the mo? are any of these hdcp enabled?

Call me a fool but is it not the case that 99% of the uk havent even heard of hd anyway? - and so whats gonna happen when sky starts to broadcast in hi -def?
    :confused:
    am a total novice to all this but i presume 99% of us will be screwed anyway? (plus i love the picture on the sagem 50 and its down to 1,600 with stand now in comet) ....

2. St_ve

St_ve
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go for the Sagem you're aware of the HDCP issue & there is a chance Sagem will fix that IMO DLP beats Plasma

3. davei

davei

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    just read this....

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-bin/shownews.php?id=7340

not really any the wiser - but would you say the sagem is a 50" turkey??

anyway i'm pretty sure all the plasmas we could afford would not compare picture wise with the sagem and also i presume very few of those plasmas would be hdcp enabled ??

4. St_ve

St_ve
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read this at the time but Sagem have been telling people since then over the telephone there will be a fix .Do not buy this set if you want to watch hidef buy it for the picture quality it has now.Any HDCP fix would be a bonus

5. digitize

digitize

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: